Vegetarian Ramen Stir-Fry Dinner

What I have truly realized is that I love to cook for people. Although I do not always live at my moms house, but I also tend to live some days of the week at my own apartment where I do not cook for people. No, instead I am cooking spectacularly for myself. So maybe I do not like to cook for people, but I like to just play with my food. Well, nevertheless art is made from the meal in front of me and/or others.

Tonight I decided to go for a vegetable ramen noodle stir-fry. It was the quickest meal ever. The longest part about making it was waiting for the water to boil.

Vegetable Ramen Noodle Stir-Fry

This could easily be a meal perfect for those who live on a low budget income due to college or university. You know, when you’re too busy with homework and studying to actually go out and get a job? Hah, we all know it is about the alcohol! Remember not to drink and drive, kids! Well if you like having a starch, a meat, and a vegetable in your life this is the meal to go for!

I quickly researched different ramen recipes and mostly what came up was a lot of beef and pork. I personally do not eat either of those and the rest of the red meat family, but I am sure you may. I then looked up ramen recipes with only chicken. That was not as easy to come by, but the internet is BOUND to have information on chicken flavoured ramen. Now the most uncommon flavour to make your ramen is vegetarian. Such an incredible shame really, because when I am not home with mom, I try as I can to be a vegetarian. I like how that just rhymed.

So with all that research, I ended up just jolting down a few ingredients and got them at the store. In the Netherlands 30 min dinners are made as easy as counting to ten… in Portuguese. Well, if you do not know Portuguese then it is just as easy as doing it in English. If only you could have seen me trying to count in Portuguese, I actually initially started in French! I went to the grocery store and bought a bag of vegetables for a stir-fry. These vegetables were labeled “Chinese Roerbakmix” I am guessing that roerbak means stir-fry. The contents of the Chinese Stir-fry vegetables were the following: white cabbage, green onions, leek, red bell pepper, and taugé (bean sprouts) I also bought a bag of woknoedels by conimex for my ramen from the grocery store.

Ramen Noodles
Bought from Albert Heijn

You’re probably starting to wonder what is wrong with me in a language sense. I mean I am writing to you in English, but I just so happen to bring Portuguese numbers up, and then I add some weird Dutch words as well probably confusing the hell out of you. It is OK, you’re not the only one. Most the time when people meet me they tend to be on the confused side. History time! Born into an expat family, I was, where moving was inevitable, my dad is Dutch and my mom is Canadian. Because my mom is from Canada, they decided to only speak English around the children once they had them (her Dutch wasn’t all that good, so she feared I would learn poor Dutch too). They ended up having two children. Myself: born in a small city in a farmers province in the Netherlands and my little sister, Hanna: born in a city in a mountainous province in Argentina. Neither Hanna nor I speak Dutch, but for the past six years we have been residing in this cold and wet country. We understand much of the language, but when it comes to vocalizing, proper sentences just do not form and manage to leave our mouths. Well, at least that is the case for meBack to cooking!

Here is an estimation of what it is that I cooked (since I was not following a recipe, but experimenting:

1 brick of woknoedels (Ramen)
1 teaspoon of vegetable broth powder
½ Tablespoon olive oil
½ yellow onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
½ bag of Stir-fry vegetables
1 Tablespoon sesame seed oil
1 ½ Tablespoon soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste
Parsley, chopped, to garnish

Directions:

1)      Put pan of water on high and allow to boil, once boiling add teaspoon of vegetable broth powder and the one brick of woknoedels.

2)      As water is in process of boiling, chop half the onion and the garlic.

3)      Put a small Chinese wok pan onto a flame and add olive oil to grease pan. Once oil is hot add onion and garlic and stir till aromatic.

4)      Remove woknoedels from the boiling water once at suitable consistency. (I personally like mine a little crunchy, so I drain my noodles in 2 minutes after being added to boiling water)

5)      Let woknoedels stand, add stir-fry vegetables to the wok and mix with translucent onion and garlic. Add tablespoon of sesame oil and mix well. Once the vegetables are all coated in oil, add the woknoedels to the wok pan. Mix well.

6)      Add soy sauce to noodles and vegetables until at desirable taste.

7)      Grab a plate, pour the contents of the wok pan onto plate, add salt and pepper to taste and chop some fresh parsley to sprinkle on top.

A spicy chili sauce of some sort would have been great to add to it, as would some ginger. It I had my head screwed on straight I would have also browned some sesame seeds to sprinkle on top before adding the parsley.

If you are truly interested in a proper recipe, here is a low budget ramen meal plan. If you follow mine or the link I just provided you with, please let me know how it turns out!

Have a great rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

