Green Grilled Cheese Lunch

Grilled cheese sandwiches to me are a memory from my childhood. Mom would make them as an after school snack when we were itsy-bitsy in size. They were always perfectly cooked, not a single sign of a burn on either side of the sandwich. She was a miracle worker when it came to grilling those puppies.

Now though, as I am now an adult I can make grilled cheese sandwiches that are much more sophisticated. Why use just a slice or two of cheddar cheese or those Kraft cheese slices (which are SO bad for you)? I came across a recipe on Pinterest that really intrigued me. Green grilled cheese sandwiches. How amazing does that sound? I honestly love anything that does not look normal. I fell in love with Dr. Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham book because of the thought of eating green eggs and ham. Now that I am older, I won’t be eating ham at any point, but if you have green eggs on hand, send them my way! That is if they are green from being made with spinach or artificial food coloring, I do not think I can handle truly green eggs due to their being rotten or something. Yuck!

So today for lunch I made those interesting sandwiches and boy were they amazing? It was a complete mix of flavours in my mouth. Possibly a bit on the strong side (I overdo the whole flavour thing a lot), but that was clearly my fault. Anyway, here is the photo of the masterpiece and the recipe to follow:

This photo does not do justice to how it tasted.
This photo does not do justice to how it tasted.

2 slices bread
2-3 tablespoons pesto
2 slices goat cheese slices
handful fresh baby spinach
¼ avocado, sliced
2 tablespoons mozzarella, crumbled
olive oil (and butter if you’re so inclined)

Directions

1) Spread about 1 tablespoon of pesto onto each slice of bread (2 tablespoons total, watch out pesto is strong so you may need to put on less)

2) On one slice of bread, add 1 slice of goat cheese, sliced avocado, crumbled mozzarella, spinach, second slice of cheese, then top it with second slice of bread. Press together gently.

3) Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a frying pan over medium low heat. (If you want to use butter, add it to the oil and let it melt). Add the sandwich to the oil and cook until bread is golden brown. Press down on the sandwich lightly, then flip the sandwich over and cook until second side is golden brown.

Now as you may have guessed, I tweaked the recipe some. So if you are interested in the real recipe, just look here. And below will be a collection of photos from the recipe above in which someone else also blogged about:Green Grilled Cheese Collage

Leave a Reply

