Zoodles with Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Happy Sinterklaasdag everyone!

Now I know that is incorrect “sinterklaasdag”, but what is it that they say to someone when it is Sinterklaas in the Netherlands? Because when it is Christmas in the rest of the world they say “Merry Christmas!” or when it is Easter it is “Happy Easter!”, but what do they say when it is Sinterklaas?

Sinterklaas is a Dutch iconic figure who is much like Santa Claus, but this man comes to the Netherlands on a boat with a white steed and little zwartepieten who are his helpers. The boat hails from Turkey (or so I think it does) and has many of presents for all the little ones who leave their shoes out of their houses. Sinterklaas then rides his white horse down each road to place treats and gifts in the shoes of the children while letting his horse eat the carrots and cookies left out for the animal. Anyway, that day in which all that gift giving from this man and the treat eating is today.

Many Dutch families all over the country are celebrating this day, while our not-so-Dutch Dutch family are not. Not that I mind, to me this is just a day on the calendar. The 25th of December is something to make a big deal about. What about for you? Do you have a special day to celebrate?

So for todays dinner I made zoodles! You know, zucchini noodles! They are so delicious, I do not know why I have not heard of them until recently.

Pesto Zoodles with Oven Baked Tomatoes

Doesn’t that just look delicious. Super festive with the color scheme, but also just purely good! I got the recipe from here. But here is the recipe that I did, because as you should know, I tweak everything.

  • 2 medium zucchinis

  • ½ pint multicolored cherry tomatoes

  • clove of garlic

  • extra virgin olive oil

  • 1 tablespoon organic pesto

  • sea salt and pepper 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425ᵒF or 220ᵒC

  2. Clean and halve half pint of multicolored cherry tomatoes and toss in a splash of extra virgin olive oil until evenly coated. Crush and then chop a clove of garlic and add to tomato mixture. Sprinkle with a generous dash of sea salt and spread on a cookie sheet, seed side up.  (I used a small glass baking dish)

  3. Roast tomatoes for 15-20  minutes

  4. Use a julienne peeler to create zucchini noodles 

  5. Place a pot of water (below half of pan) on stove top and allow to boil.

  6. Once boiling put julienned zucchini into a colander and place colander over boiling water. Allow zoodles to become al dente.

  7. Once complete, place in a large mixing bowl combining zoodles with tablespoon of pesto (more to your preference) and mix well.

  8. To serve: place zoodles in a bowl, top with cherry tomatoes. Serve hot. 

This recipe is super easy and super delicious. Not to mention it is completely gluten free and vegan! It makes my body feel happy.

Zoodles with Tomatoes

I also then decided to treat myself to a perfect romantic meal for one. That makes me sound so lonely and pathetic. Stupid long distance relationship! So I poured myself a glass of wine and lit a couple candles.

Romantic Dinner for One

If you end up trying this recipe out, please let me know. I would love to know how you feel about these zucchini noodles!

 

Leave a Reply

