Breakfast of Blueberry Overnight Oats

When you wake up in the morning, are you the type of person that rushes through everything and does not have time to eat? Or do you set your alarm ahead of time and gradually make yourself look suitable while eating the right type of thing to energize your body?

I am the latter. But sometimes I have no will power to make a good breakfast which I then end up doing the worst: eating a cheese sandwich as I walk out the door. Hardly nutritional. At least my bread is always brown or seedy!

Well regardless if you haven’t got much time to make AND eat breakfast, or if you take your time as I do, wouldn’t you prefer making something at night that lasts till the morning whenever you wake up? I mean I woke up at five and only managed to get out of bed at eleven. I was so engrossed in a book that I couldn’t even think about food even when my belly was rumbling away saying “feed me, feed me”.

When I finally did end up getting out of bed and showering, by the time I went to the fridge it was already 12 o’clock in the afternoon. I was awake for seven hours and had not eaten. LUCKILY I had made that special breakfast which is totally amazing and fills you up like you wouldn’t believe.

Image

So, last night before I went to bed, I made this amazing breakfast. Most people like to call it Overnight Oats. It is basically oatmeal with milk and yoghurt and some fruit to top placed in the fridge overnight (without heat) in which you take out in the morning and eat.

When I was younger, I was not all too keen on having oatmeal. I remember mom would make it for us for breakfast and I would have the most sour of faces and would begrudgingly go about eating it. I would honestly be gagging at every second bite because the texture was so awful. Yes, I was that child that truly hated eating oatmeal with brown sugar. But finally, as I matured so did my tastes. I may however never be a fan of oatmeal with brown sugar.

So here is the recipe that I followed to make this:

2/3 cup oatmeal
2/3 cup almond milk
1 Tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon honey
½ teaspoon cinnamon
handful blueberries

Directions:

  1. Mix first five ingredients together in a small bowl until all is coated.

  2. Add blueberries on top of oatmeal 

  3. Cover bowl with cling wrap or lid and place in fridge until ready to eat following morning

This recipe is super easy as you can see and also very delicious. I even decided to make this for mom one morning, she wasn’t sure if she would like it, but luckily she was quite fond of it. Which means you may like it as well even if you think you won’t! So I hope you’ll be spontaneous and go for this type of oatmeal.

Now the best part about overnight oats is that you can keep them until for several days in the fridge. So you could make several bowls of different types and then eat it all through the week.

Also something to keep in mind: you do not need to use almond milk, you could use whichever milk you use. 2% or 1%, even whole milk. I personally prefer almond milk because of its unique taste and how it is much better for you. But again, that is just me. Use what it is that you like.

The original recipe that I followed to then make this one can be found here.

If you do in fact go about making this, I hope it jump starts you to then have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

