Lentil Soup for Sunday Dinner

Back to being healthy. Yesterday I made those amazing Black Forest Cheesecake Cups, but today I went for a healthy and super filling dinner. I love lentils, chickpeas, and quinoa so I tend to try and make something hearty with one of the three often. Tonight I went for a delightful soup. Because who dislikes soup? Those in my family know I love it.

I used to live off of Sapporo Ichiban soup, yes that’s right. I would eat at least one package a day. Now I know how bad that is for someones body, but it was just so good. Luckily, as the years passed I learnt how to eat those such soups with chopsticks which allowed me to take my time with food like that.

Now though, I do not eat that instant type of soup as often as I used to. I tend to prefer making homemade soups. Just like todays meal of Lentil soup with Cilantro and Cumin. I got the recipe from the fatfreevegan blog.

Bowl of Lentil Soup

Here is the recipe I followed:

  • 2 cups brown or green lentils, uncooked
  • 8 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, thickly sliced
  • 1 rib celery, chopped
  • 2 large gold or red potatoes, cut into large cubes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (use if water is used instead of broth)
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • Additional seasonings: ¼ teaspoon coriander, ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • salt, to taste
  • 4 ounces fresh spinach (chopped if large leaves)
  • 2 teaspoons Red wine vinegar or lemon juice

Instructions

  1. Chop all vegetables and divide onions, garlic, and celery from other vegetables

  2. Add olive oil to a large pan and allow to heat at medium temperature. When hot enough, add chopped onions, celery, and garlic. Mix until translucent.

  3. Add chopped carrots and potatoes to onion and celery mix until all is coated. In this process rinse 2 cups of lentils until water is clear. Once done that add lentils to vegetable mix. As everything becomes coated, then add eight cups of water to pan.

  4. Turn heat to high, as the water heats up, add 2 bay leaves, bouillon cubes, dried cilantro, and ground cumin, and pepper and cover soup. Once soup begins to boil, turn heat down and allow to simmer for 30 minutes or when lentils are soft.

  5. If soup is too dry, add water as you see fit. If it is too weak, add additional seasonings to enhance taste. Once ready, chop spinach and add to soup. Add salt and stir in red wine vinegar or lemon juice and serve hot.

The recipe which I linked to you has a complete different step by step process, but in that recipe Susan, the author uses a pressure cooker. I do not have that so I just estimated how to go about her recipe in a large pot. This recipe makes for 8 portions. So we’ll be eating this soup for days on end. Fortunately, this soup is super good for you and will probably help with filling us up throughout the week and helping slim us down too.

If I am to make this recipe again I would add chopped tomatoes to the soup. I like soups that have a tomato base which this one does not have. Tomatoes also add a very full flavouring to such meals, but this definitely wasn’t a bad meal whatsoever.

Too much soup for one night

If you end up making this super hearty meal I would love to know how it goes for you.

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

