Lentil Soup: Leftovers for Days

On Sunday I made a massive batch of lentil soup for both my mom and I. I said that we had enough for days on end… I must say I was definitely not lying. I wasn’t going to return home today but due to a furnace failure in my apartment building I ended up returning to my mom’s place. This meant that instead of having her peperoni pizza which only mom and my sister can eat, we just ate more leftovers. Mom told me that she already ate this soup yesterday and that we’ll be eating it for dinner tonight too. That’s a helluva lot of lentils!

Leftovers with Extra Flavouring

To me, the lentil soup I made Sunday was just a bit on the dull tasting side, so I thought I would add some more flavour to the mix for tonight’s meal. For those who know me, they know I am addicted to curry powder. I swear, I am more Indian than my Indian boyfriend. So I added ½ a teaspoon of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of curry powder, and some fresh black pepper to taste. So we ate some more lentil soup which took on a more stew-like consistency.

I never knew that lentils absorbed so much liquid, did you? But that was our meal for the evening. Just to let you know, the rest of the leftovers will be disposed of. Day 2 of leftovers for Africa is probably enough for this household.

Another Photo of Leftovers

You know, after looking at these photos for some time I am starting to think that this meal looks like something you’d find public school cafeteria ladies putting on your plastic plate. Looks pretty awful. Kind of like mystery meat. Alas, I can assure you that this meal is much tastier… I mean c’mon, my mom has been eating it for three days straight. We didn’t just toss the rest in the bin, but she ate it till the end.

One thought on “Lentil Soup: Leftovers for Days”

Leave a Reply

