Delicious Blueberry Cherry Overnight Oats

I truly do love to experiment in the kitchen. So much that I decided to ramp up my overnight oats last night. Don’t get me wrong though, I love my normal blueberry oats, but I saw some cherries in a can and thought ‘why not add some of that to my oats rather than using honey and cinnamon?’ So I did just that.

Delicious Blueberry Cherry Overnight Oats
Delicious Blueberry Cherry Overnight Oats

When I saw what color everything was and that I could find a surprise beneath the surface I was instantly excited. I personally love deceiving things, like cakes that look so ordinary with a chocolate or vanilla icing, and then you cut a slice only to see that it is actually a vibrant red velvet cake. You are enthusiastic about cake, but then you see the color difference and are far more interested. That is completely how I am. So when I saw the full cherries under all the blueberries I was pretty stoked to be eating my breakfast.

Cherries beneath the surface
Cherries beneath the surface

This is what I did (keep in mind I always keep my oatmeal and milk about the same in measurements):

2/3 cup oatmeal
2/3 cup almond milk
1 Tablespoon chia seeds
2 teaspoons canned cherries

A handful of blueberries

Directions:

1)    Mix oatmeal, almond milk and chia seeds in a large cup or a small bowl

2)    Add canned cherries with their syrup to oatmeal (you can add as much as you want)

3)    Spread handful of blueberries above top of oatmeal mix and place in fridge until ready to eat following day

Delicious delicious. If you end up making such a thing I hope you find joy with the colors as I did.  If not, I am sure you will enjoy the taste. It isn’t all that sweet and still checks all the right boxes.

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

