Pineapple Smoothie for Breaky

If you like piña coladas, getting caught in the rain… I started my morning singing that song. Why you may ask? Well I thought of having a lovely smoothie for breakfast. I am not much of a smoothie maker, at least not at home because our blender isn’t all too high powered, but I remembered how mom previously bought pineapple so I was thinking of making a Caribbean theme breakfast drink. Rupert Holmes was definitely running through my mind over and over again this morning.

Image
Pineapple, Apple, Gooseberry smoothie

This is the recipe I followed:

  • 1/3 cup pineapple
  • ½ an apple
  • 4 gooseberries
  • ¾ cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds

Directions:

1)    Mix all ingredients in blender until at preferred consistency and pour into glass. Add more chia seeds for garnish

Pretty straightforward and completely easy. And you know, extremely delicious. Especially if you like the Caribbean flavours of pineapple and such. Although upon just googling I found out that pineapple is not originally from the Caribbean, but from Brazil. If you did not know that, then now you do. I know I just learnt a thing or two.

Image
Top view of breakfast smoothie

So with one glass of this pleasant smoothie and I was absolutely stuffed. Although, while I drank it I also chewed the liquid. Now I know that sounds bizarre, but if you chew a drink like a homemade juice or smoothie you are in fact burning calories to then gain more energy once consuming the liquid. I think I saw that on a post on one of my fitfoodies who I follow in IG. Unfortunately I cannot recall who it was I heard this fact from but I have a link you can look into here.

If you end up drinking this I hope you enjoy it! And if you weren’t one to chew before, I would hope you are now!

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

