Green Cookies for a Colorful Season

This weekend my organization food wise has been a day behind. Friday I meant to make that Baked Potato Casserole, Saturday I wanted to make something sweet, and Sunday I was thinking of making tofu fried rice. The only thing I managed to actually accomplish is the fried rice for lunch. As you know the casserole was made on Saturday while my sweet thing I did on Sunday.

If you’ve been keeping up with me so far, you would know that I am super interested in colorful dishes. So much that for the sweet treat for Sunday I wanted to make green cookies!

Image
Green Cookies!

These cookies are Green Mint Chocolate Chip cookies – YUM! The recipe that I followed can be seen below (note: the entire mint part I took on myself), the original recipe for basic sugar cookies can be seen here.

Ingredients:

Chocolate:
1 bar dark chocolate
½ teaspoon mint extract

Cookies:
2 ¾ cups self-rising flour
1 ½ cups sugar
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup butter, softened
6-8 drops green food coloring

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF or 190ºC, then line a cookie sheet with cling wrap.

  2. Put a pan with water on stove top to boil, once boiling put a bowl (just larger than mouth of pan) on top of pan and turn heat down to medium. Break chocolate and add to bowl. Mix chocolate until it smooth. Add half a teaspoon of mint extract. Continue to stir until all is mixed properly. Remove bowl from pan and let cool down some.

  3. Once chocolate is no longer boiling, pour onto prepared cookie sheet and allow to cool. (You can place chocolate into refrigerator to speed process along)

  4. Now that chocolate is done find a large bowl and a sieve. Pour all dry ingredients through sieve to eliminate all possible clumps.

  5. In a smaller bowl, mix egg, vanilla extract, green food coloring, and softened (or melted) butter. Once all is combined, add to dry ingredients and begin to mix all with an electric mixer. (I just used a whisk)

  6. Now that cookie dough is ready, remove cookie sheet from fridge and lift cling wrap from sheet. Break chocolate in half and into pieces. Add to cookie dough mixture. (during this process I used a glove hand to mix the dough and chocolate together – this making the chocolate look like swirls rather than chunks in dough) Either cut chocolate into chunks or make them into swirls and mix with dough as much as you want.

  7. Finally line cookie sheet with parchment paper and scoop teaspoon sized balls of dough and place evenly on cookie sheet.

  8. Cook sugar cookies for 8-10 minutes or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet for two minutes and then transfer cookies to wire cooling rack. 

These came out ah-may-zing-ly. I absolutely love the color and the fact that the chocolate is not in chunks but swirls throughout the cookies. Perfect perfect creations for December. October I was crazy for pumpkin everything, but December is definitely my mint obsession now. Only shame is we cannot find mint candy canes in this country!

Before baking these puppies I was tempting my loved ones abroad by looking at my eerie batter. What do you think of this stuff?

Mint Chocolate Chip Dough in Metal Bowl

Oh I love it. It makes me think of the Grinch in need of a shower.

Speaking of showers, I should probably have one too. Anyway, I also made my tofu fried rice. It was super easy, but I didn’t add probably two of the most critical ingredients to make it taste good. So I wasn’t all too keen on it, but again it was my fault. This is the meal I made for lunch:

Tofu Fried Rice with Sesame Seeds on top

Here is the recipe that I followed:

1 cups cooked wild rice
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
½ container of cubed tofu
1 egg, lightly beaten
½ cup sliced green onions
½ cup frozen peas and carrots, thawed
1 teaspoon minced garlic
½ teaspoon ginger powder
1 ½ tablespoon soy sauce
½ teaspoon worcestershire sauce
¼ teaspoon sesame oil

Directions:

  1. Heat ½ tablespoon of the vegetable oil in a medium wok or skillet over medium-high heat. Add tofu and cook 4-6 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring occasionally. Remove tofu from pan and return pan to stovetop.

  2. Add egg to pan and cook 1 minute or until scrambled. Remove from pan and set aside.

  3. Add the other ½ tablespoon vegetable oil to the pan and add green onions, peas and carrots, garlic, and ginger powder and sauté for 2 minutes.

  4. While vegetables cook, mix soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, and sesame oil in a small bowl. Add cooked rice to pan and cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly.

  5. Finally, add tofu, egg, and soy sauce mixture back to the pan and cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly.

You may ask why I used worcestershire sauce instead of hoisin sauce? Well it was all for the simple reason that I didn’t have a clue what hoisin sauce was and knew that we did not have it, but we had worcestershire so I decided to enjoy that flavour to my mix. As for the reason for ginger powder instead of fresh ginger – well for some odd reason we could not find ginger at the grocery store. Usually there is a section of organic ginger in our grocery stores, but this time we couldn’t find it. And I dislike ginger in a can just as much as I dislike garlic in a can, so I decided powder would be the best way to go.

If you go for the rice dish for one person, I suggest you use a medium pan. I was using a small one which was good, but it made a mess. Unless you are an expert at keeping your rice within your pan (which I am far from) then a bigger pan is necessary! Messy Stove Top

Overall, I think I was quite productive today. I again took wonderful photos of Austin with his candy cane themed antlers.

Austin with his snazzy antlers!

If any of you go about making the gorgeous green cookies seen above, I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

