Spinach Grapefruit Salad and Christmas Prep.

When you were younger were you as turned off by spinach as I was? I couldn’t stand that vegetable! While both my parents adored it, especially creamed spinach. Then once when we were on an airplane I had sautéed spinach and actually began to like this vegetable. To be honest, many meals which I have not liked when I was younger I was forced into eating either on an airplane or at the hospital and started liking it. I am probably the one human being who actually enjoys both plane and hospital food.

Anyway, for tonights dinner I made a citrusy spinach salad. It is super easy and wonderfully healthy!

Image
Grapefruit Salad

This is the recipe that I was following:

  • 4 oz or 115 grams baby spinach
  • 2 ruby red grapefruits, peeled and fruit separated, reserving 3 slices
  • 2 hass avocados, diced
  • 1 cup cooked red quinoa (1/3 cup dry)

For the Citrus Vinaigrette:

  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoon champagne vinegar
  • 1 small shallot, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 Tablespoons grapefruit juice

Directions:

  1. Rinse quinoa then boil according to instructions (for every cup dry quinoa, two cups water)

  2. Once cooked quinoa is ready, put aside and let cool.

  3. Cut grapefruit in half, with north and south axis’ on each half. Cut each triangle of meat and allow to slide out into a large bowl. Once all of the meat is out of the shell, squeeze liquid from shell of grapefruit into a little bowl. Do this with the next 3 halves of grapefruit until all meat is in bowl.

  4. Cut avocado in half and chop into cubes.

  5. Chop shallot into brunoise sized pieces

  6. In another small bowl mix vinaigrette

  7. Remove stems from spinach and mix leafy spinach with other ingredients in the large bowl, pour vinaigrette over ingredients and enjoy!

If you were at all confused in my description of what to do with the grapefruit, here is a photo which should clear things up for you.

Image
How I Cut My Grapefruit

This is actually what mom would do for us for breakfast when we were younger. She however would sprinkle sugar on our grapefruit halves. Then after we finished she told us to use our spoons to sip the juice of the grapefruit because it too was good for us.

This process for cutting grapefruit is so much easier than what the recipe told me to do. You can see the recipe here.

Image
Close Up Image of Salad

I’ve been wondering. When you’re eating avocado which needs to be chopped up, what is it that you use to cut? We used to always just a normal sharp knife (usually a steak knife), until once while mom was making an avocado, mint salad she was cutting the avocado while watching TV and ended up cutting through the avocado peel and stabbing her palm. It was a really bad cut. She called me down to take over her salad making as she tried to bandage herself up. Luckily for mom, I had hurt myself more than enough times that I could figure out what bandage or ointment would be best for her “owie”.

After that incident we opted for a new toy in the kitchen. This toy is not only super handy, but incredibly safe. Made by a hard plastic which is sharp enough to penetrate an avocado in the best way possible. This is the avocado tool we use. I believe we found it in the Bijenkorf (pronounced as “by-en-korf”;this being considered a department store), but I am sure you can find this in any kitchen type store. Honestly, if you eat a lot of avocados and don’t have this slicing tool yet you really really should get it.

Anyway, I hope y’all had an eventful Tuesday. Every Tuesday I am off from having class so I pretty much relaxed. Slept in actually. Then mom and I went shopping. Bought Austin a couple presents for under the Christmas tree. Yes, that is right, Austin is 100% part of the family that we buy him Christmas presents too. He is one lucky Malinois puppy, wouldn’t you say? I honestly cannot wait for Christmas. Not like a child waiting for presents, but as someone who provides gifts for people (or dog) and wants to see the shock and excitement in others eyes.

What are you excited about if anything Christmas related? Receiving gifts or the reactions of those you’ve given gifts to?

Image
Our little Christmas Tree

This is our little Christmas tree. Not much, but it does look pretty attractive. And yes, that is my very own stocking. Mom even sent it to me last year full of little gifts while I was in Canada. Old habits and traditions die hard.

I hope those of you who celebrate it are almost ready just like we are! If you do not celebrate, what are you doing for your winter holiday?

Leave a Reply

