Tuna Pesto Pasta for an Easy Peasy Dinner

I had a feeling that today would be an easy dinner day. I knew I would be working on touching up an assignment for Accountancy so I planned ahead for an easy dinner. With this constant “plan ahead of time” meal scheduling I am sure I could be a good mom one day. At least in the food part of it. I have issues with my temper. Well it only is problematic when dealing with some peoples children who do not seem to have respect for anyone. My future kids will not be like that, I’ll try and raise them right. I mean my mom did quite superbly with two generations of children. My older sister is thirty-five and raising her own three munchkins and seeming to do it pretty well while my little sister who is eighteen and myself at twenty-one seem decent enough as well. If mom could do us three as well as she did, then maybe there is hope for me in making good children too!

Anyway, lets forget about my possible children and go back to food. For tonights meal I thought of making a simple pasta dish with tuna and pesto. That way I can use more of my giant jar of pesto that I bought. It isn’t all that giant, but when you live on your own then even a small jar of pesto can last forever, right? So my jar is doing just that. I wonder when I will get sick of pesto…

Image
Gluten Free Tuna Pesto Pasta

So this meal was super duper easy. Hardest part (if you can call it that) was chopping the onion and garlic. And I love to cut both onions and garlic. Especially garlic. I love the smell of garlic. So below is the recipe that I followed which I got here.

  • 1 “brick” of mihoen, AKA Rice Noodles
  • 3 Tablespoons of pesto, add more if you like
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • ½ can of tuna, drained
  • ½ medium white onion, chopped finely
  • 1 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ Tablespoon of fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • Flaked Parmesan cheese

 

Directions

  1. Cook the rice noodles and drain. Sauté the onions and garlic in olive oil.  Add the tuna and break up the chunks. Cook for 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in the pasta and cook for a minute or two. Add water if you find the noodles too dry (you must likely will need to do this as rice noodles clump up when overheated). 
  3. Stir in the pesto. Mix well until the pasta is coated.
  4. Add the parsley and cook for another minute. 
  5. Serve hot sprinkled with flaked Parmesan cheese.

If I am ever to make a noodle dish, I always prefer making rice noodles. I love that they take like a third of the time that it would normally take to cook every other noodle type. Plus the thought that the pasta is gluten free is a complete edible turn-on. Not to mention my body loves me for eating GF.

Honestly, I should get into the habit of eating gluten free more often to ensure my body is in a happy state. How do you guys feel about gluten free meals?

Image
Close-Up image of Meal

So that’s today’s meal. I should get back to my Accountancy fun. I just need to re-write my description of my asset replacement and asset disposal policies and procedures for my hypothetical business. Once that one is done I’ll keep on proof reading until it is 100% complete. Yay accountancy… I hate mathematics.

If you make this fabulous dish then I hope you enjoy your meal!

L

Leave a Reply

