Quinoa Vegetable Sushi with Miso Soup

When you go to the grocery store are you ever tempted to buy the sushi that is found in the packaged fish section? I am ALWAYS tempted. Sushi is like my go to meal for everything. Unfortunately it is pretty costly. Especially when you’re a poor student as I am.

So now a days I just make sushi at home. It is as easy as pie. And that was what I made last night for supper.

Homemade SushiAlthough when I am making sushi for dinner I have to eat it with something else. Just plain ole sushi just doesn’t seem good enough. So I boil up some water to have some instant Miso soup too!

Miso SoupEven looks similar to the stuff you would find at Japanese restaurants. Delicious.

Here’s the recipe I followed for my sushi meal:

  • ½ cup quinoa, cooked
  • 2 small puntpaprikas (I think these are just pointed bell peppers in English)
  • 1 small cucumber, julliened
  • A bag of shredded carrots
  • 1 teaspoon pesto (optional)
  • 1 package seaweed
  • Soy Sauce with less sodium
  • Miso soup powder 

Directions:

1)      Add ½ cup quinoa to ¾ cups water in pan and put to boil on stove, once boiling allow to simmer until quinoa is cooked (no more liquid in pan)

2)      As quinoa is cooling, cut the puntpaprika into thin slices. Do the same to the cucumber.

3)      If quinoa is cooled enough that you can handle its touch, spoon a couple spoons of the quinoa and place on one end of the seaweed. *Make sure seaweed is with the smooth side up.* Add cucumber, puntpaprika, and couple pinches of carrots to quinoa mixture

4)      Roll into small logs with quinoa part being rolled first. When sealing up log, wet final end of sushi with some water to stick against other part of sushi.

5)      Place log of sushi into some cling wrap and add to refrigerator to allow to cool. Continue process two more times. For additional flavouring add a couple dollops of pesto in roll.

6)      Once sushi rolls are in fridge cooling down, bring some water to boil in a kettle.

7)      As kettle begins to howl, pour water into a bowl with Miso soup powder at bottom of bowl. Stir well.

8)      Remove sushi from fridge and slice into even logs.

9)      Before eating, get your wasabi or soy sauce and enjoy!

It is really quite easy, wouldn’t you say? Once you get the hang of doing this more often then it becomes the best meal to make. I sure make it often enough to be a pro at homemade sushi.

Dinner Time

Best part about it all? It is 100% vegan! Although for you who need some meat in the mix are more than welcome to add whatever it is you wish to make your sushi more edible. I tend to make sushi with vegetables though. (I can’t be bothered to buy a big pack of crab and only use a few pieces… )

For you who are wondering about the ingredients of the Miso soup the below list is what I read on the side box:

– Miso (rice, soy beans, sea salt, A. oryzae)
– Wakame (seaweed)
– Dried green onions

Pretty nice, eh? I am all that more happy to make such a meal.

Plus I have a weird love of seaweed. I tend to go to the Chinese grocery store here and buy snacking seaweed which looks like this:

IMG_0523
Snacking on some Spicy Seaweed in Bed

Now you know just how weird I really am with my love for seaweed! Maybe it is time I move to the land of dried seaweed, hmm. Nah I am far too terrified of the natural occurrences which could ruin the country… or at least me.

Anyway, I hope you end up trying this lovely dish!

As they say in Japan: せていただき

(or in English: Enjoy your meal)

Leave a Reply

