Mint Chocolate Cake to Celebrate the Year!

Hello two thousand and fourteen! What great things will come for us as we experience another year in the twenty-first century?

To start the year I thought to make a mint chocolate cake which we brought to my aunt’s house to give as a celebratory dish for 2014. That family has a wonderful sweet tooth which means I can experiment more in the kitchen and let them indulge in my sweet desires without actually eating such creations myself.

This cake is my most basic cake that I make every time we crave for something sweet but not THAT sweet. When you eat sweet things do you prefer to have a super sweet treat or something light but still good enough to hit the craving you lust? I personally cannot stand super sweet. I could never own a candy shop. If I did I would probably be ill all the time.

Mint Chocolate CakeThis was what the cake I made looked like. The recipe for the chocolate cake is super duper easy and very delicious! If you just exclude the mint extract you will find the recipe here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon mint extract
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 cup room temperature water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ᵒF or 175ᵒC and grease a 9×5 rectangular loaf pan.

  2. In large bowl, sift all dry ingredients and mix. Then add all wet ingredients and mix well until all dry ingredients have become wet and liquidy.

  3. Pour chocolate cake recipe into prepared pan and place in oven.

  4. Bake for 45-50 minutes. When time is up check if cake is baked through with a toothpick, if not bake for additional ten minutes until cake is thoroughly baked.

  5. Once finished take out from oven and allow to cool. Remove mold from cake and allow cake to cool on plate or wire cooling rack.

  6. When cool, cut cake to make two layers. (I cut the cake just below the “crown” of the cake)

Next make the icing layer for both in between and on top of the cake. This I am not all too keen on, but it did the job.

Thick Mint Icing on Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 5 cups powder sugar
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon mint extract

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix butter and powdered sugar together using a spatula. (Doing this will prevent the sugar to not fly up when later mixed with an electric mixer)

  2. Once the sugar and butter mix has made a very sandy-like texture, add vanilla and mint extract as well as milk and mix with electric mixer.

  3. Continuously add milk until at desired consistency (I prefer it to be able to still stick to the spatula, while being thick enough to spread well as a middle layer, – you can thin the icing out even more to make a glaze on the top layer of the cake)

** This recipe is enough for two of the loaf cakes above, so halve the mint buttercream icing if you’re making it for one cake!

I decided to add some dragees and chocolate chips for a design on top. With those candies I tried to design a firework. The final product ended up looking like this:

Firework Mint Chocolate CakeAfter baking this I then made dinner and attempted to make the blog entry for the meal. I ended up falling asleep for a bit too long of a period of time. Oops.

Luckily I was able to shower up and do my makeup just in time (45 minutes) to head to my aunts place at 10:30pm. We brought the cake and the ingredients to make some strawberry punch. Those ingredients are the following:

1 container of Strawberries, washed and sliced
1 Bottle White Zinfandel
½ a 2L Bottle of Lemonade
½ a 2L bottle of Ginger ale

If you like a sweet and slightly tart punch which looks very classy, this is definitely something for you!

I do not have a photo of the actual punch in the bowl, but I have a small photo of the punch in a glass. Not the best of photos, but you can see what it is like!

Strawberry PunchMom & I at 12:30am

If you make any of the above I hope you enjoy all!

Leave a Reply

