Chickpea, Tomato, and Basil Salad

Chickpeas

How did the chickpea get its name? In Dutch they are called kikkererwten (direct translation: frog peas), which to me is even weirder than being called a chickpea.

I decided to look it up and unfortunately only found a true definition of it on yahoo answers and that answer was in fact linked to Wikipedia. Now I know Wikipedia is the one source you should never trust when looking up information but here is the bit I read about chickpeas:

The name “chickpea” traces back through the French chiche to Latin cicer (from which the Roman cognomen Cicero was taken). 

The Oxford English Dictionary lists a 1548 citation that reads, “Cicer may be named in English Cich, or ciche pease, after the Frenche tonge.” 

The dictionary cites “Chick-pea” in the mid-18th century; the original word in English was chich, found in print in English in 1388, and taken directly from French.

Now that we know where the name comes from I should tell you that I made a fabulous chickpea salad last night for dinner. My sister liked the idea of this salad, so I made this salad to go with chicken, asparagus, and endive which mom made. Even though it is obviously winter, this salad and honestly the entire meal would be an idea summer meal.

Chickpea Salad with Dinner

The recipe I followed can be found here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 500g cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 box fresh basil, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, grated
  • 2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 4 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, add drained and rinsed chickpeas, halved cherry tomatoes, chopped basil, and grated garlic. Then add all liquid ingredients and salt.

  2. Cover and refrigerate for 20 minutes to allow flavours to blend.

  3. Uncover and enjoy!

Extremely easy and absolutely wonderful. In my opinion it tasted much like bruschetta while my mom thought it tasted like a caprese salad. At any rate we all enjoyed it immensely!

Tomato, Basil, Chickpea Salad

It is honestly these kinds of meals that make me wish I were in the Caribbean with my loves. The beautiful hot weather would go perfectly with this sort of meal, don’t you think? I know my vegetarian best friend would love this salad as would my carnivorous boyfriend who is on his way to Tobago.

If you make this salad, I am sure you will enjoy it just as we did!

Buon appetito!

One thought on “Chickpea, Tomato, and Basil Salad”

Leave a Reply

