Blue Blue Blueberry Fun

What is your favourite color? For me it is aqua.

Oh how I wish I could make an aqua colored cake. For now I just enjoyed a blueberry blue velvet cake and cupcakes. What a great way to get some color in a dessert. Blue food coloring AND blueberries. Oh man I love colores.

So I made my beautiful blueberry cake and had additional batter so I also made some cupcakes. Or can I call them muffins? What makes a muffin a muffin and a cupcake a cupcake? I always differentiated a muffin from a cupcake because of the fruit in it. Well here is how you know what is a muffin and what is a cupcake.

The recipe I followed can be found here.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1¾ cup granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature if possible
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk, room temperature (feel free to use buttermilk)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1½ pints blueberries

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350ᵒF (175ᵒC).

  2. Grease a loaf pan as preparation of cake begins.

  3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.

  4. In a large bowl, using a hand mixer, beat the butter until light and creamy, about a minute or so.

  5. Slowly add the sugar, and cream (beat with the mixer) until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

  6. Add the eggs one at a time, being sure to fully incorporate each egg before adding the next.

  7. Add the vanilla, and fully incorporate.

  8. Add the blue food coloring as you like. I just add some, mix it, and then see if I need to add more. Keep in mind that we still need to add the flour and milk, so color it a little darker than you want it in the end. It will lighten up once we add the remaining ingredients.

  9. Add the flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with the addition of milk. So you’ll add flour, then milk, then flour, then milk, then flour last. Make sure to incorporate each before adding the next.

  10. Mix in the blueberries gently with a spatula.

  11. Pour cake mixture into loaf pan and bake for 1 hour. (If you baked in two cake pans then you could bake for 35 minutes)

On the original recipe it said to make an icing with powder sugar. When I saw that I was 110% disgusted and had to find another icing of choice. I searched for a less sweet icing online and found this fabulous website where there is a guide to icing. I went for option two “Whipped Cream Frosting” except I did it wrong. Oops. I did however make blue whipped cream.

So because of my disaster I decided to make buttercream frosting after all. I found one cylinder of powder sugar consisting of 250g and used maybe a third a cup of butter to make the icing. I’ve learnt that if you use your spatula to blend the two before blending with your electric mixer you do not make as much a mess so I did just that. Then because of that super strong sugar taste I added a couple spoons of my ruined whipped cream and blended the two together. This made the icing less sweet, but still super sweet. Does anyone know an icing which is not as sweet as a powder sugar something?

Iced Cupcakes

Before I actually baked my cake and cupcakes, I mixed the dry and the wet as the recipe said above. Although I did it incorrectly. I added the wet to the dry rather than the dry to the wet. In doing this I can tell you that the original color of the batter was pretty shitty. It literally looked like poop. But once adding the final third of the wet to the dry I got a very green looking batter. This with 20 drops of blue hoping it would be klein blue. It didn’t happen. I added four drops of the opposite color of red and finally a bit of blue showed up!

Gross Colors

Adding Red to BlueThose red drops really look dark blue don’t they?

Ready to Bake!

It still looked very green. But I just hoped for the best. The best looked like this:

Baked CakeBaked CupcakesPretty blue in the crack, right? And the cupcakes look incredible. Nice blue tinge to cheer me up. I was then able to bake an additional seven cupcakes from the leftover batter. That is a lot of batter!

When you bake before dinner do you allow those in your family to enjoy the sweet or do you follow the rule that sweet treats are only allowed after dinner? When I was raised that was the case. Only sweet things after dinner.

Now though the rules seemed to have changed on me. Both my parents and my sister entertain the thought of either eating dessert between eating plates of food or eating dessert before dinner. Is this normal in your household? I can assure you when I have a family that rule will be one of the top ones in the game. It will have to be if I love to bake like I do.

If you make these I hope you love them!

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

