Burgers the Healthy Way

After Sunday baking came dinner. A dinner for champions. And just like Buju Banton said it “Me wanna walk like a champion, talk like a champion…” I really did feel like a champion after dinner.

I think this weekend was all about the beef. Which meant I had to make my own meal of course. Saturday with the risotto while my parents had beef stew and Sunday with burgers. I too had a burger, a delicious and filling one at that!

I made a burger of Portobello mushrooms with guacamole, cucumber, tomatoes, shallots, and brie. Mom also made my favourite salad which I believe is oil and vinegar with garlic, onion, sugar, and cucumbers in the dressing. It is perfection. We also had french-fries to go with it.

For my burger I used the following:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Portobello Mushrooms
  • 3 slices tomato
  • 3 slices cucumber
  • 3 slices shallots
  • 2 slices Brie
  • 1 Tablespoon Guacamole
    • 1 avocado, mashed
    • ½ shallot, chopped
    • 1 small clove garlic, minced
    • ½ teaspoon lemon juice
    • 1 teaspoon vinegar
    • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 175ᵒC or 350ᵒF

  2. Line a baking sheet with tin foil and grease tin foil with olive oil. Place 2 mushrooms facing up on pan. Sprinkle olive oil on opposite side of mushrooms and bake for 10 minutes. Flip half way through baking process.

  3. Slice tomatoes, cucumbers, shallots, and brie and set aside. Grab avocado and make guacamole.

  4. Remove portobellos from oven and drain of excess liquid.

  5. Immediately put brie on one of the caps and guacamole on other cap. Add sliced vegetables to whichever cap you choose and press together.

  6. Then enjoy

Ready to EatI really only ate like three french-fries. The rest was eaten by daddy.

Portobello BurgerI wish I could remember the link I copied this from, but my mind is completely blank. I do however recall that it was Finnish or something? I had to have the ENTIRE page translated. Thank you Google Chrome!

If you do make this I am sure you will enjoy it. If not then just have at the guacamole. It is my preferred recipe for guacamole. The family loves it and it is super easy.

As they say in Finland:

Hyvää ruokahalua (enjoy your meal)

 

 

Leave a Reply

