Green Pasta and Sauce

I think I have a problem. I am over the top obsessed with colors when it comes to food. Red velvet cake? Why not – but lets make it blue velvet! Rice Krispie Squares? Sounds good – but mix all colors together and make it black like coal! Sugar cookies? Sounds amazing – but lets add some green to the mix!

Yeah, I am obsessed with color in food. I honestly blame it on Dr. Seuss with his Green Eggs and Ham book. After reading that book I knew I wanted colorful food. I can honestly still remember sitting in our TV room in Ciudad Ojeda and imagining eating green food. I am a psycho for color.

I am sure my future children will love this just as much as I do.

So tonight I had green pasta with a basil tomato sauce. How awesome does that sound? And what a cuisine clash – Italian sauce meets Japanese spaghetti!

Green Tea Pasta with Basil Tomato Sauce

The other day my dad and I were killing time and decided to enter a grocery store in downtown Den Haag. The grocery store is called the Marqt. And oh my God is it amazing. It has everything organic and healthy and just amazing. It is rather similar to the store EkoPlaza, but I’ve not seen green pasta in EkoPlaza, so de Marqt is a favourite right now.

Dinner of Green Tea pastaThe instructions said to boil the water and then add the spaghetti and allow to cook for six minutes until al denté. I looked to my kitchen clock and saw the minute hand was on forty-three. I went on with adding some onion and garlic to olive oil in a pan and added some chopped portobello mushrooms to that sautéeing the vegetables and finally adding the basil tomato sauce to it. I then looked to the clock and was shocked to see that only a minute had passed in that time.

I then continued mixing my aromatic garlic and onion mixture with the mushrooms and sauce. And again I looked to the clock realizing that the second hand was ticking back and forth. The clock was dead.

My spaghetti was overcooked. Delightful.

So I strained the pasta and poured it into my bowl plate. I added a half a teaspoon of olive oil to the pasta to make it less sticky. Just before adding the sauce to the pasta I added a forth a teaspoon of dried basil and dried oregano then poured half the sauce I made on the green noodles to look like the above photo. I added the remainder of the chopped portobello to the top of the sauce.

It was rather decent tasting. Although I did have to add a tablespoon of Parmesan cheese.

Want a Bite?

It was definitely interesting. I would honestly make it again. Maybe use a different sauce to go with it though. The package that the spaghetti came in probably feeds two mouths. It is a small package of only 200g, but is perfect if you’re eating for one person as I am much of the time.

At the end of the day, green tea spaghetti is the best way to go about making a pasta dish.

If you manage to find colorful pasta I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! And please show me what amazing concoction you create!

Buon appetito!

One thought on “Green Pasta and Sauce”

  1. Love the way you write and involve your family and places you lived into the story! Daddy….. XXXOOOXXXOOO

Leave a Reply

