Green Pancakes for a Healthy Breakfast

When you wake up what do you look outside to see? Enough snow to close down schools? High water levels from too much rain? Or are you one of the lucky ones who live in the Southern Hemisphere who get to enjoy summer?

I woke up with rain. Lots of rain pitter patting on my window. Luckily though it was a day to enjoy as I do not have classes today. So instead of rushing into the shower and then eating breakfast, I took my time. My thoughts went to One Hit Wonders music from the 80’s and pancakes. So I found a playlist with 80’s music and made a 4 ingredient pancake mix.

Green Pancakes

Sounds good doesn’t it? And extremely easy! If you use Instagram, I got the recipe from someone I follow there, her username is HealthNub. She makes amazing meals which are delicious and good for you.

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, chopped
  • ½ cup oatmeal
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 handful spinach
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

Directions:

  1. Mix oatmeal and chopped banana in a food processor.

  2. Add two egg whites and mix until smooth.

  3. Add spinach and mix until most spinach is puréed.

  4. Pour mixture onto hot pan and make pancakes.

Puréed MixtureThis is the absolute most perfect breakfast ever. A) Because of the gorgeous color of the food, B) It is 100% healthy, C) It is DELICIOUS.

You should definitely try this! Plus if you have kids I am sure they’d be interested in them as I am.

Making Green PancakesSure looks interesting doesn’t it? Well it tastes great! I’ve made this at home over the summer and had mom taste it too, she was kind of iffy about it, but did not mind the taste. If my mom could handle it I am sure you could too! You may even like it if we are lucky!

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

