Sweet Treats Without the Guilt

Why is it that when women are emotionally unbalanced they turn to sweet things as a source of strength? Honestly I do not know the answer to this, but I’ve made the perfect sweet thing to help cope with our emotional days!

That delicious thing is cookie dough. That’s right, I said it – cookie dough. No, this will not be made into cookies, but just raw cookie dough. Delicious cookie dough at that.

Cookie Dough Balls
Frozen in a Tin Pan

I got the recipe from here.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/2 c. chickpeas, rinsed and drained (approximately 1 can) 
  • 3 Tablespoons sweetener of your choice (agave nectar, honey, or maple syrup)
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda 
  • 3 Tablespoons nut butter of your choice (peanut butter, almond butter, pistachio butter. Cashew butter, etc)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¾ bag (10 oz.) non-dairy chocolate chips 
  • 3 teaspoons shortening (I used sunflower oil)

Directions: 

  1. Combine all of the ingredients except the chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon shortening in a food processor or blender. Process till smooth, scraping down the bowl once or twice if needed. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl.

  2. Mix in 2 Tablespoons of chocolate chips (reserve the rest for dipping). Form into balls and freeze on a baking sheet till solid.

  3. Set a wire rack over a baking sheet covered with tin foil. In the top half of a double boiler set over barely simmering water, melt the remaining chocolate chips and shortening – stir till smooth and remove from heat.

  4. Using a fork, dip one bite into the melted chocolate, turning till covered. Lift the bite out of the chocolate and tap gently on the side of the bowl to remove excess. Place on wire rack. Repeat with remaining bites. Return bites to freezer and freeze till solid.

Cookie Dough BallsThe original recipe said not to combine the shortening with the recipe, but my blender sucks and needs more liquid to actually blend things. It is a pain in the rear. But if you have a powerful blender you can omit adding the shortening to your cookie dough balls.

Have you noticed though – there aren’t any eggs in this recipe. This makes it 100% vegan. Which I love. Although if you use honey the recipe will not be vegan, but if you are like me and can’t be bothered to go to the grocery store to get agave nectar then honey is the way to go! It was the only thing I had in my house so I definitely went for honey. This came out pretty good regardless of it being vegetarian rather than vegan.

So when it comes to your nut butter of choice, what are you interested in having your cookie dough ball taste like? We always have almond butter on hand as well as peanut butter, but I didn’t want to open the fresh jar of almond butter and used the peanut butter. If you are a fan of Reese’s Cups then you should like having peanut butter as your nut butter of choice. Because mine sure taste like Reese’s Cups.

Want to know a pathetic fact that occurred while I was making these cookie dough balls? Well in our garage we have two refrigerator/freezer units. One is a refrigerator with a freezer below it and the other is solely a freezer. For some odd reason while I was freezing the balls the first time around I put them into the fridge. This only hit me when I was forking the balls to put them in the chocolate. Oops.

I felt pretty dumb. But in defense in all the years we lived here we had another fridge unit where the freezer was above and the fridge was below. Only while I was in Canada was the refrigerator replaced by one that has the fridge above of the freezer. But honestly the worst part about my really dumb mistake is that I put the tin on top of two 6-packs of water. Clearly being liquid rather than a solid. I just wasn’t thinking.

At any rate, once I realized what I did I placed the balls into the freezer. Took a while but I finally did that.

Chocolate Covered Cookie Dough Balls

I love how you can clearly see that there are chickpeas in the mix yet you cannot taste them whatsoever. They truly taste good. Honestly this is the healthiest way you can eat a Reese’s Cup and not feel guilty.

I really do suggest you make this. It is amazing. I could eat them all. But I am always on moms tail for eating poorly that it would be bad of me to do the same. Luckily though if I did think to eat them all I shouldn’t feel that bad.

So more the reason that we all should eat these!

If you make it then I hope you enjoy it!

L

One thought on “Sweet Treats Without the Guilt”

  1. The interesting thing is that when I grew-up (100 yrs ago it seems) that my Mom also gave me cookie-dough as a treat! seems that some “comfort-foods” survive the times…….Huub

Leave a Reply

