Fried Tofu with Chimichurri Sauce and Quinoa

Why must food be so amazing? Someone must find out the reason behind our love for one of the needs for mankind. And while you’re at it can you figure out why I love this green stuff I like to call Chimichurri sauce?

I am guessing it may have to do with my love for the country of Argentina. Or maybe it is my longing to return there? I haven’t a clue, but I know I love it!

So for tonight’s meal I’ve got fried tofu coated with chimichurri sauce with quinoa and a side of a salad going for me. 

Fried Tofu, Quinoa, and a Salad with Chimichurri SauceOkay, so I may have gone a little overboard on the chimichurri sauce, but can’t you see that I love it that much? Its like food heaven. BBC should add this to one of their Saturday Kitchen episodes, but make it something for food heaven rather than food hell. Because everyone prefers food heaven, right?

I got the idea to make this from here, but I of course did not make use of the vegetable kale and my sauce is green not red.  Which really means I’ve alternated the entire recipe. Oh well the original is up above.

Firstly I would like to state that tofu is a pain in my rear. I haven’t yet mastered how to drain the sponge-like meat replacement of the liquid in which it comes in. I like to squish it between two paper towels on each side and press it between a bowl plate and a side plate, while placing something heavy on the side plate. Now that does drain the tofu of some of its moisture, but it certainly doesn’t do much  for what is needed. How do you drain your tofu of its liquid?

Anyway, here’s the recipe for chimichurri sauce:

Ingredients:

  •  1 cups fresh parsley and/or cilantro, firmly packed 
  • 1 Tablespoon of chopped basil
  • 1 teaspoon fresh oregano leaves (optional)
  • 3-6 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice (optional)
  • Kosher salt and red pepper flakes to taste

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients above in a food processor and mix until the only lumps you see are from the parsley not being smooth. 

  2. Chill until ready to use.

As for the tofu press it and drain it for at least 2 hours. Once it is without its water, marinate tofu in sauce for another two hours at least. Once ready, begin to cook the quinoa as per what is instructed. Then fry the tofu on low in olive oil. Once brown plate up and drizzle with chimichurri sauce again.

Then enjoy!

Close Up

Because I do not eat meat I opt for tofu as my meat, but you can use steak, lamb, a white fish, salmon, chicken, basically any meat out there. When my dad goes to Buenos Aires he enjoys having this special sauce with his steak at certain restaurants along the harbour.

Ah, the life of an Argentino – drinking an espresso in the sun on a terrace with a cigarette delicately between your fingers speaking the harmonious language of Castellano. – And I am picturing a well kept man with exquisite shoes who is dressed appropriately when I say that. Because neither do I smoke nor do I drink such strong coffee. Plus I am not an Argentine, but a Dutch/Canadian.

Anyway, as I was eating this fabulous meal I was being a lazy cow watching Covert Affairs behind my laptop.

Dinner with Covert AffairsMake no mistake, when I finally have children this happening will never occur. No electronics while at the dinner table. Not even the television will go on. Dinner time is family time. At a table with chairs where conversation of our days will be had.

But until then I have a couple seasons to watch of Covert Affairs!

If you end up making this I do hope you enjoy. And if you’re wondering – the black specks on my photos are black beans. I thought I’d utilize them after opening a small can of them during lunch and not finishing them.

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

