Corn Dogs, a Childhood Favourite

What is one of your favourite foods from your childhood? For me it would have to be tequeños which are apparently fried cheese wonton sticks as a direct translation. My sisters ultimate favourite food would definitely have to be corn dogs. So I thought why not surprise her with homemade corn dogs?

It was a good idea. Plus that way I could make corn dogs for me as well. Veggie Corn Dogs – PERFECT!

Corn dogsThat looks just about right. Alas my corn dogs did not turn out that gorgeous. But here is the recipe that I followed, although there were a few tweaks.

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cups haver milk
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey 
  • A choice between meat and vegetable hot dogs
  • Wooden skewers

Directions:

  1. Start by filling a pan with oil and heating on medium.

  2. Combine all dry products together and mix well

  3. In a separate bowl combine the egg and liquid ingredients and add to dry ingredients.

  4. When ready pour batter into a long drink glass

  5. Remove hot dogs from packages and wipe them down then insert a wooden skewer into each hot dog

  6. Insert each hot dog into the long drink glass filled with batter and then place hot dog into hot oil. Turn often to allow entire hot dog to become golden brown. 

  7. Remove from hot oil and place on a plate with paper towel on it to remove grease.

  8. Enjoy!

Now unfortunately my corn dogs did not quite turn golden brown and smooth like the photo I showed you above, but they were quite edible!

Unattractive Corn DogsThe two bottom corn dogs are the ones which contain a vegetarian hot dog, while the other four are whatever meat that is in a normal hot dog. It is very obvious that they look hideous, but honestly they were good. So good that when I stepped out of the kitchen to see what sort of havoc was going on down my road I returned to see this:

Stealing my CorndogsAustin decided to eat the only vegetarian corn dog I had left. I guess they really were that good.

Interior of Corn DogHe’d been admiring them like crazy before, guess he just had to have one himself.

Cheeky puppy.

If you happen to decide to make these things, you should follow the original recipe on the link above. That way your corn dogs will most likely be of a smoother consistency.

I hope you enjoy yours just as my little sister, dog, and I enjoyed ours.

¡Buen apetito!

Leave a Reply

