Calming the Excitement with a Fruity Smoothie

Drama. You would prefer not to be in it but you really can’t live without it. Does anyone feel that way? I know I do. I’m like a young teenager who loves hearing about happenings with others while I also love to see drama, but if it comes to me, y’all can really bud out!

It unfortunately cannot be one way or the other. It goes two ways. Especially when you’re a person who loves to talk, whether it be about happenings around you or within your life. Yeah, that is totally me. I guess that is why my parents called me “Talk-a-lot” as a child, because they knew I’d become a talk-a-holic.

Well speaking of drama and lots of chatter, there is something big going down in my neighbourhood. Big enough to bring in hoards of police officers to prevent something horrible from happening. There were at least twenty people standing on the corner of our block (which is in front of our neighbours as we live in a duplex), my mom, friend, and I were glancing out the window and noticed groups of police officers walking the twenty-some people away.

If that is happening then there is obviously something happening, but it is all too interesting as well! I feel like we live in Beverly Hills where all the drama goes down. Hollywood, move on over, the real drama is had right here!

Anyway, as this was happening I decided to make myself a healthy and hearty smoothie. We had already had dinner, but I was just so turned off by it that I had to make myself something else that could both fill me up and act as the sweet thing I’ve been craving for all day long. Smoothie it was!

Now while dinner was a complete bust, this post dinner snack/meal was delicious. Best of all it was my favourite food color of green. I am seriously obsessed with green dishes.

Green Smoothie packed with Fruits I just mixed a bunch of fruit together to make this healthy smoothie. Here is what I used:

  • ¼ cup pineapple, chopped
  • ¼cup strawberries, sliced
  • 1/8 cup mango
  • 1 banana, chopped
  • ½ cup spinach, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons flaxseeds
  • ¼ cup dried oats 
  • ½ cup unsweetened almond milk

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in blender until smooth (place spinach first and add fruit afterwards)

  2. Pour into glass and enjoy!

Initial Fruit

 

 

Here in the blender you can see the mango, strawberries, and banana (while underneath is the piña) – I should have put the spinach in first but I wasn’t sure whether I’d add spinach or not until the very end.

Flaxseed MixHere you can see the flaxseed mix that I used in this smoothie.

It came out perfectly. I loved it. Mom wasn’t too keen, but she doesn’t like smoothies. I really haven’t a clue how she could be turned off by such lovely creations, but she is.

Tropical Smoothie with SpinachI love that color! Especially with the fact that you can see the little red and green bits in it. Its like Christmas for smoothies!

Anyway, here was dinner that I wasn’t all too keen on:

Cauliflower, Chickpea, and Spinach CurryThis curry can be found here. I made everything as I should, following the recipe exactly, until I noticed the flavour lacked some. I then added an additional 2 teaspoons of Garam Masala, a half a teaspoon of chili powder, a teaspoon of cumin powder, and some additional dried coriander leaves. Worst of all, I added more salt than I’d care to admit. Although with this dish I also made brown basmati rice.

Have you ever heard of brown basmati? I know I haven’t! It still smells of popcorn while being made, but it is purely brown! Sounds just up my alley.

I hope you make a smoothie sometime this week, make it colorful and delicious!

Buen provecho!

 

Leave a Reply

