Vegetarian Spaghetti Bolognese

Spaghetti Bolognese is a past time favourite for me. As a family we still eat it, but I get a miniature portion with vegetarian beef crumbles while my parents and sister eat a large portion of it.

Tonight though, I made a large batch of spaghetti Bolognese – vegetarian style. I am proud to say that this sauce looked as though it truly had ground beef in it. I even took a photo to send my best friend to show her that it looked as if I was going to eat beef, but really it was all vegetarian. I am a truly happy camper for this.

Vegetarian Spaghetti BologneseDoes that not look extra beefy to you? Well it is 100% vegetarian!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups wholewheat noodles (or preferred spaghetti type)
  • 1 package vegetarian meat crumbles
  • 1 jar vegetarian pasta sauce (mine had eggplant, zucchini, and bell peppers in it)
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¾ cup water
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 ½ teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Fill small pan with water to boil and cook noodles as instructed on box.

  2. Place a frying pan on medium heat and melt coconut oil, once liquidized add chopped onion and garlic and cook until translucent and fragrant. Add meat crumbles and cook until warm.

  3. Add vegetarian pasta sauce to meat and mix well. If too dry add water to sauce to become more liquid. Turn up heat and allow sauce to boil, adding oregano and paprika powder to add flavour. Add salt and pepper to taste if necessary. 

  4. Once noodles are cooked, drain in a colander and return to pan with heat turned off. Add teaspoon of olive oil to the pasta to allow noodles not to stick together. 

  5. Spoon onto plate and top with Bolognese sauce.

  6. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Spaghetti BologneseI definitely enjoyed it! I opted for without the cheese as I am trying to eat more vegan than vegetarian. But this was definitely delicious.

If you are a fan of fooling people into thinking that you are either eating real meat or having them taste real meat then this is definitely something good for you. I mean my best friend (who is a full on vegetarian) thought that this was even real meat until I of course told her and showed her the photo of the sauce in the pan.

Salsa Bolognese

I think my favourite part about this sort of meat substitute is that you can still eat it “raw”. Normal ground beef you shouldn’t eat when it is uncooked, but this you can. It doesn’t taste all too appetizing, but it is edible none the less.

If you make this meal I hope you enjoy it just as much as I did.

Buon appetito!

Leave a Reply

