Two Green Asparagus Soup Dishes

By now you should know that I love to cook. Well if you do not know then take a second to take in that you are currently on a food obsessed blog. Yeah that means I am food obsessed and love to cook.

There are two things that I love creating in the kitchen:
1) Desserts
2) Soups.

I’ve loved soup since I pretty much came out of the womb. I would eat ichiban religiously even. Every grocery shopping trip would lead to at least two bags of noodles ready to be crushed when we get home. It was an obsession.

Now that I am older and able to actually create things while in the kitchen instead of just pouring water I make soups. And a couple nights ago I gave Asparagus soup a go. I can tell you – I hate peeling asparagus!

Asparagus Soup

The soup recipe I followed was from here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 asparagus spears, sliced into thin ribbons (for garnish)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3 large shallots, chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1 leek, white part only, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 1/2 pounds fresh, trimmed asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup high quality white wine
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
  • 6 large basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • Sprigs of fresh dill and basil leaves (for garnish)

Directions:

1. Prepare asparagus ribbons by laying spears on cutting board and running vegetable peeler along the spears.

2. Melt butter in a large soup pot over medium heat.

3. Add shallots, leek, and garlic and saute for 3-4 minutes.

4. Add asparagus, chicken stock, wine, salt, and pepper to the pot. Simmer for 15 minutes or until asparagus is tender.

5. Remove pot from heat. Add chopped dill and basil leaves and in batches, puree soup in a blender or food processor. Return soup to pot and add half and half. Move pot back to cook top, add salt an pepper as needed, and heat through.

6. Remove from heat. Add lemon juice and serve immediately. Garnish with fresh dill sprig, basil leaves, and asparagus ribbons.

Once you get over the peeling of the asparagus, it is a very easy and straight forward recipe, wouldn’t you say? Next time I make this mind you, I will NOT add that much dill. I followed the recipe perfectly and the dill was far too strong. The soup lacked the taste of asparagus. Which really is a shame as I love asparagus.

A little on the liquidy side
A little on the liquidy side

I decided to keep the soup though. Not to eat by itself, but to maybe add to something else. Initially I thought only of making the soup into a pasta sauce, but then I remembered that many pasta casseroles are made with soups so what’s a casserole with asparagus soup if not delicious?

Now even though I wasn’t all too keen on the soup I made, adding it to a casserole was the best idea ever. And this recipe wasn’t even of my findings but my moms.

The recipe that she found is from here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box  whole-wheat macaroni noodles
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups white mushrooms, sliced
  • ½ cup asparagus, chopped, tough ends removed
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 2 green onions, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons flour
  • 2 cups previously made asparagus soup
  • ½ cup cooking cream
  • 1/3 cup asiago cheese, grated
  • 1 cup light, old cheddar cheese, grated
  • Ground pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400º F (200º C).

  2. Cook pasta as directed on the box.

  3. Meanwhile, in fry pan, heat oil over medium heat. Sautée mushrooms until soft. Add asparagus and celery and cook 5 minutes. Mix in heaping teaspoons of flour to thicken the soup for casserole. Remove from heat.

  4. In a large bowl, mix together cooked pasta, mushrooms, asparagus, celery, green onion, soup, milk, asiago cheese and pepper.

  5. Pour mixture into large casserole dish and top with cheddar cheese.

  6. Bake for 15 minutes.

Asparagus CasseroleAgain, this is another quick and easy recipe as you can tell. Honestly this recipe is perfect. The taste of the soup wasn’t as strong and the combination of the still crunchy celery and the beautifully sautéed mushrooms fit well.

Asparagus Casserole

This recipe is an absolute must!

So if you’re making both, I truly hope you enjoy ’em! Although if I were you I would hold off on the dill just a bit.

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

