It’s Pizza Time!

Pizza – who doesn’t like it? It is one of the top favourites to be eaten as children and is often the best food for young adults in college. Or really, for everyone! So I tried to make a gluten free pizza crust for tonight.

Tried. And failed. All in the process of learning!

If I could, I would make a normal pizza crust with whatever Xanthan Gum is. But I haven’t been able to find this weird word which I cannot pronounce in any of the health food stores in the Netherlands, so I will have to opt out from making a real crust. Instead I went for a zucchini crust.

Before going in oven
Before going in oven

I can honestly tell you that zucchini spaghetti is much easier than making a crust.

I found the recipe here.

Ingredients:

Crust-

  • 1 egg
  • 1 zucchini, julienned
  • ¾ cup Parmesan
  • Salt

Toppings-

  • Pizza sauce
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450ᵒF (220ᵒC)

  2. Julienne zucchini and then chop. Then place in a bowl, sprinkle salt on zucchini and let sit for a few minutes.

  3. Remove water from zucchini – (Place paper towel on a plate and zucchini on plate, then press another paper towel and plate over zucchini to remove water. You could also press zucchini in colander and press a bowl into it)

  4. Mix the egg and Parmesan with dried zucchini.

  5. Spread zucchini mixture on a parchment paper or paper towel covered tray. Make dough batter about ½ inch thick and in a circle.

  6. Put in oven and cook until browned (approx. 15-20 minutes). While crust is cooking chop tomatoes, mushrooms, and whatever other toppings you want to add.

  7. Remove browned crust from the oven and spread pizza sauce over it. Add spinach, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes. Drizzle with olive oil and return to the oven for further cooking (I cooked it for an additional ten minutes)

  8. Remove and enjoy!

Zucchini Crust PizzaPretty simple. Except like I said above: I failed. You may be wondering how this happened.

Well, how it says above in the instructions that you need to strain the zucchini to remove the water – I did it. I just didn’t seem to do it that well. When I baked my crust it was far filled with liquid that I was unsure if the egg even cooked. I feared eating a semi-raw egg so ate a few bites and then ended up tossing the almost beautiful creation of a crust.

Instead I ate a small pot of cottage cheese. Maybe later I’ll enjoy some cereal as well. I’ve recently fallen in love with All-Bran cereal. When I was in Canada, I would eat it often but I never knew they had it here. Now I know and now I love it all over again.

Anyway, here are some photos from my outing yesterday. Mom, Austin, and I went to the lake to walk Austin. He swam like crazy in the water while I just enjoyed having on rubber boots and being able to walk in the water.

The child in me loves to step in mud and water with rubber boots.

Austin and I in the water!

Austin having trouble finding his stick!
Austin having trouble finding his stick!
Loving standing in the water!
Loving standing in the water!

2 thoughts on “It’s Pizza Time!”

    1. When you try my zucchini recipe I will be sure to try your cauliflower one. I’ve been wanting to do so for a while anyway! When you make the zucchini crust be sure to rid of the liquid as best you can unlike me!

      L

Leave a Reply

