Simple Eating with a Toasted Tomato Sandwich

Do you ever have those extremely lazy days where you really don’t want to cook? I never have, not until today. I thought of making porridge like my mother does when she is alone and lazy, I also thought of just eating salad with my wonderful salad dressing, but instead of all of that I went for a toasted tomato sandwich!

Toasted Tomato Sandwich

I don’t know where this sandwich comes from originally, but I do know that only a few people have heard of it and eat it. Only one other person at the hotel in Canada ate it with me. That’s two out of nearly two hundred staff members.

Well in my family I am known for my expertise on making this sandwich. In 2011 the family and I went to Western Canada to visit family and friends (as we used to live in Alberta). We spent a couple of weeks at Grammy’s house in British Columbia and one afternoon mom raved about the fact that I am known for making these sandwiches. So we decided to make a whole bunch. Someone was at the toaster toasting the bread, someone was slicing the tomatoes, and someone was swiping mayonnaise on the toast until I made five of these sandwiches, as my dad dislikes tomatoes it was an experience for Grammy, Gramps, mom, my sister, and I.

Needless to say, everyone loved it.

So how does one make a toasted tomato sandwich? With love of course!

Actually, the steps are really easy.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of bread (I prefer brown)
  • ½ – 1 tomato, sliced (depends on how much tomato you like)
  • ½ Tablespoons Mayonnaise (depending on your preferences) 
  • salt and pepper to taste 

Instructions:

  1. Place both slices of bread into the toaster and allow to become brown.

  2. Meanwhile as bread toasts, slice your tomato into thin slices (half a centimetre thick)

  3. Once toaster handle lifts toast, remove from toaster and layer one half of the toast with mayonnaise. Lay slices of tomato evenly on mayo and coat with salt and pepper.

  4. Smooth mayonnaise on the other piece of toast and cover the tomatoes. 

  5. Press down and slice in half and enjoy!

Lots of pepper for this girl

As you can tell I like my pepper!

What about mayonnaise? What brand of mayo do you prefer?

Personally for me, I can’t have any other brand but Hellmann’s! Although the Netherlands is known for its mayonnaise, I can’t stand it. Not unless it is fritessaus for your french fries. Fritessaus (french fry sauce when translated) is a mayonnaise mixed with what I think is curry. Or relish. Whatever it is, it is amazing.

Calvé Mayonnaise

Here is a typical brand of Dutch mayonnaise. To me it has a very sweet taste which frankly should not be paired with things such as tomatoes… or even french fries. Calvé is the perfect brand for making salad dressings though.

Hellmann’s on the other hand is not sweet. I can’t even describe its taste, but it is good. Maybe it is all the chemicals? Are there chemicals? Probably! But it is oh so good!

When I finally finished my sandwich I had to have something else. As a dessert per sé and as an extra way to fill my belly and leave a great taste in my mouth.

Albert Heijn Mangoes

I finished my dinner with these sliced mangoes. Delicious.

If you are thinking of making this sandwich, I truly hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I do!

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

