The Absolute Perfect White Fish Summer Salad!

How does one prevent smoke from making way to the smoke detector when frying some sort of meat? I know the easiest way to prevent it from going off is by opening windows and using doors or towels to “swoosh” the smoke out of the area, but really how do you not smoke up a place?

I know how to use all sorts of techniques in the kitchen but I have no idea how to prevent smoke from appearing as I fry fish or poultry.

(Well daddy, I hope you’re happy to know that my smoke detector works!)

Yes, today as I made my early dinner, I faced with a loud beeping from my smoke detector. I don’t know what I did as I tried to rip it from the ceiling, but it did finally stop (thank God!)

Besides having struggled with such a horrible (yet appropriate) machine, I also made a fantastic meal. A meal I may never make again due to my fear of having the smoke detector go off again.

Grilled Pangasius Spinach Salad

I actually may never make any non-vegetarian meals ever again because of that very fear. Well after this weekend that is, because I’ve purchased a few containers of shrimp at the same time that I purchased the pangasius used in this dish.

The lovely recipe for this dish is found here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup zucchini, sliced
  • a pinch of salt and pepper (to season fish)
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice
  • 2 fresh pangasius fish fillets
  • 3 cups spinach
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon lime juice

Instructions:

  1.        Heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium high. Add the mushrooms and zucchini, season with a pinch of salt and pepper and sauté for about 5 minutes, until softened and starting to brown. Remove from pan and set aside to keep warm.

  2.        In a small bowl, whisk the honey and lime juice together.

  3.        Preheat a large pan at medium-high heat. Lightly coat with cooking spray. Season the fish on both sides with salt and pepper and place on the grill. Grill for about 3 minutes on each side, brushing the fish with the honey lime glaze.

  4.        Divide the spinach leaves over two dinner plates. Arrange the sautéed vegetables over the spinach and top with grilled. Sprinkle the cherry tomatoes over the salads. Lightly dash with olive oil and lime juice.

  5.        Serve immediately and enjoy!

I truly enjoyed this dish. Even though my fish was a bit on the burnt side along the edges, it tasted amazing! Best of all is that this recipe is for 2 people so I’ve got leftovers for a fantastic lunch tomorrow! I am excited. Especially since I do not have to fry the fish again and listen to the singing of my smoke alarm.

I feel like such an idiot because of that. I had to Facetime my mom in my distress from my incident. Instead we had a lovely twenty minute conversation.

 Anyway this meal is super light and very ideal for a summer dish. If it is hot where you’re at you should be making this white fish dish!

Enjoy your meal!

Leave a Reply

