Beautiful Spring Tacos for Tuesday!

Are you one of those people who cooks according to the day of the week? Like “Meatless Monday”, “Taco Tuesday”, and whatever else fits for the remainder of the week? I’m not usually someone who follows those trends but for the last couple of Tuesday’s I definitely have.

So everyone, today is Taco Tuesday and I’ve made a delicious Shrimp Taco.

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos

I love the colors in this taco. They make me think of a light spring night.

I got the recipe from here, but I tweaked it a helluva lot. In the original recipe you use enough chili powder to give this dish a good ole kick. I however do not have chili powder and am not bothered to buy it as I use paprika powder more than chili powder and I won’t be living here all too long.

Anyway, below is my recipe:

Ingredients

  • Paprika Lime Creama
  • 1/3 cup Greek yoghurt
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • ½ teaspoon paprika powder
  • Kosher salt to taste
  • Paprika Shrimp
  • 125g shrimp, deveined 
  • 1 teaspoon paprika powder
  • ½ teaspoon coconut oil
  • 2 whole wheat tortillas
  • finely shredded iceberg lettuce (I got pre-shredded lettuce)
  • avocado, sliced
  • lime

Instructions:

  1. Mix together Greek yoghurt, lime juice, paprika powder, and salt until smooth. Refrigerate until ready to use.

  2. Season shrimp with paprika powder for ten minutes. 

  3. Heat frying pan and add coconut oil and allow to become a liquid. Add paprika shrimp to the pan and cook until opaque. If coconut oil is too liquidy, drain liquid and dry fry the shrimp for an additional minute. 

  4. Remove from heat and place tortillas in microwave for 30 seconds. 

  5. Once ready place tortilla on a plate and arrange lettuce strips on tortilla add sliced avocado. Sprinkle shrimp onto avocado, then top with the Paprika yoghurt. Lastly sprinkle paprika powder over top for final presentation.

  6. Wrap up and enjoy!

Paprika Shrimp Taco

Due to the paprika powder rather than chili powder, my meal was not spicy, but I can tell you that it sure was tasty! And super light, honestly a perfect meal for a hot spring day. (Because that’s what it has been like for me, especially since hot air rises and I live on the top story of my apartment building)

Looking Into the Taco

Y’all should really be making this for a perfect spring meal. If you have the appropriate spices of choice then definitely go for the original recipe. But if you’re a lazy bum like I am, then my lazy way works too!

I hope you enjoy this like I have for the first of April.

Oh and I hope you’ve had a cheeky April Fool’s Day!

L

Leave a Reply

