Warm Weather Food and a Restaurant Outing

How do you gear up for summer? Do you buy a bathing suit you know you are going to rock on the beach? Do you go to tanning salons to get that nice bronzed glow or do you buy tanning cream to brown your skin gradually? Or are you like me and make meals which are suitable for those fabulous days when you sit outside in your back patio roasting something on the barbecue?

Well obviously I am all about the last option as I am a food lover. Although I can say that I am guilty for having bought a bathing suit not too long ago. Alas I truly gear up for great weather with even better food.

For this evenings meal I made shish kebobs! Is there not a greater meal to have in the summer?

Tofu Shish-Kabob's with Baked Corn on the Cob and a Side Salad

Although I do not own a barbecue, or have a balcony to actually house a barbecue, I do have a microwave oven which can cook shish kebabs like a barbecue!

Preparing Summer Supper

What can you use to make these delicious things? Well you can use whatever vegetable or meat suits you! I personally made it strictly vegetarian… vegan even!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (150g) button mushrooms, stems removed
  • 1 cup (150g) cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 package pre-marinated tofu, cut into ½ inch pieces
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • pinch of salt and paprika powder to taste
  • 1 cob of corn, halved
  • 2 teaspoons margarine

Instructions:

  1. Line cookie sheet with tin foil and preheat oven to 450ᵒF (220ᵒC). Begin to chop vegetables as instructed.

  2. Open package of pre-marinated tofu and cut into appropriate pieces. Insert saté stick (skewer) into tofu and chopped vegetables. Place on cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt and paprika powder.

  3. Take cob of corn and cut in half. Smear margarine over each half of the cob and place in sheet of tin foil. Sprinkle you choice of herbs or spices and place on cookie sheet.

  4. Place sheet into oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. When finished remove from oven and prepare side salad of choice.

  5. Enjoy!

Summer Supper

This was the perfect meal for me. Especially with that tofu! If you haven’t tried pre-marinated tofu before, you should! If you don’t need to buy pre-marinated tofu as you have managed to figure out a way to marinate your own tofu, please teach me!

The tofu I used was from a brand called Taifun which seems to be a German company. The taste I went for was basil infused tofu.

Right after I made and had this divine meal I went back to sipping on some green tea and overdosing on vitamin C.

Somewhere between last nights dinner gathering and this morning, I seem to have contracted some sort of virus which itches my throat to the point where I am trying to withhold a bunch of coughing. I hate colds. However the dinner gathering last night was great!

If you are ever in the Netherlands – the Hague to be exact, you should go to this fabulous restaurant where the meals are a flat rate of €17.50. Here is the meal that I had yesterday:

Amuse: Smoked haddock over a slice of quiche with some spicy tomato sauce
Amuse: Smoked haddock over a slice of quiche with some spicy tomato sauce
Starter: Cream of Asparagus soup which was Silver Serviced (waiter poured it into your bowl)
Starter: Cream of Asparagus soup which was Silver Serviced (waiter poured it into your bowl)

 

Dinner: Baked Hake with Broccoli, Tomatoes, and Olives on a bed of Garlic Mash
Dinner: Baked Hake with Broccoli, Tomatoes, and Olives on a bed of Garlic Mash
Dessert: Selection of Assorted Desserts - Flan, Raspberry Mousse, Profiterole with Vanilla Ice Cream, and a Dollop of Chocolate Mousse
Dessert: Selection of Assorted Desserts – Flan, Raspberry Mousse, Profiterole with Vanilla Ice Cream, and a Dollop of Chocolate Mousse

If that meal does not strike you as delicious then you are crazy! The restaurant is called In Den Ooyevaer. Beware that link may be in Dutch so you may need to translate!

Have you noticed a trend? I seem to be trying to get more tourism in the Netherlands with my most recent posts! But these places that I go to seem to be so great. So please come and visit this country!

If you do not do so, at least try and enjoy my recipe of the evening!

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

