Protein Packed Summer-Ready Salad

Everybody likes a little protein. Well actually, everybody needs protein to survive.

The average human needs 10-35% of their daily calories to come from protein. In total when looking at grams per day, a woman needs 46 grams of her daily food intake to be protein. That means each meal you consume should have almost twelve grams of protein in it. That is if you have four meals per day.

I know for myself I get a minimal amount of protein daily. When one does not eat as much meat as your average North American, it means you do not get all too much protein. Same can be said of iron.

Luckily for this evening’s meal I’ve had more than enough to make me big and strong! I sure won’t be revealing my Popeye guns of steel anytime soon, but my body will be somewhat happy with me.

So what’s a good pre-summer meal that is jam packed with protein?

A delicious salad with chickpeas and broccoli of course!

Creamy Broccoli Salad with Feta

Now I first had this salad in the heart of summer last year. It was a lovely day to enjoy a cool salad and a glass of chilled wine with the sun just dipping behind the house. It was also my twenty-first birthday.

(That’s how I remember the last time having eaten it, it has nothing to do with having a freaky memory like Carrie Wells from Unforgettable)

The salad was a hit at my birthday,  so much so that my picky sister even liked it! I realized from that evening that she likes chickpeas a lot, so now I know that it is safe to make meals with chickpeas for her.

The recipe is super simple and ends up with a fantastic salad which I found here.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek  yoghurt
  • 3 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 broccoli head, trimmed and finely chopped (about 3 cups)
  • 1 400g can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper

Instructions:

  1. In a medium size bowl whisk together feta, yoghurt, lemon juice, garlic, and ground pepper. Set aside.

  2. Chop broccoli until crowns are in small pieces and add to feta mixture.

  3. Add chickpeas and bell peppers and mix until all is coated in creamy feta mixture. 

  4. Eat alone or serve as a side dish.

Broccoi Salad with Creamy Feta Dressing

I had my salad with these star shaped pumpkin nuggets.

I’ll have enough left over that I can enjoy the salad on its own tomorrow as a lunch. Deeeelicious!

This salad is so good that I wanted to go for seconds, but I was just so full that I couldn’t actually go through with eating more.

It really is filling and gives you the protein you need.

You really must try this salad! And if you are interested in knowing more about amounts of protein needed on a daily basis here is where I got my information.

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

