Refining a Favourite Eggplant Meal

Let’s all just be a little lazy and just have ice cream for dinner? God I wish I could! But my body would hate me. Hate me more than it already does for cooking in this heat.

A little tip for someone house hunting – do NOT rent an apartment on the top floor which is without an air conditioning unit! Also take into consideration of where the sun rises and sets. If there is no air conditioning unit and you are on the side of the building where the sun sets, you will most likely die. Lord knows I have today.

Last night I decided to sleep with the window open, thinking that that would cool my room down. It didn’t. I woke up suffocating in the heat. I had plans to leave the apartment today too, but I couldn’t manage to do so because of the heat.

So I stayed in, dying. I realized though that this heat either makes you not want to eat at all or it makes you want to eat easy things. Like junk food.

Well I made something healthy for dinner, though I regret it now after feeling the temperature from the frying pan.

Anyway, before I gave up meat this was one of my favourites. I remember having lived in the Caribbean and being at a fellow Canadians house and enjoying this meal my mom had made. So I decided to try it myself. But with a twist.

Eggplant Parmesan

Do you know what this is? It is a very neatly plated meal of Eggplant Parmesan.

I don’t think anyone can truly succeed in making it look so attractive unless they work at a Michelin star restaurant.

 Eggplant Parmesan Quinoa Risotto

Well this was my meal. Eggplant Parmesan Quinoa Risotto. I got the recipe from here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1  eggplant, peeled and chopped into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • sprinkle of salt and pepper
  • 1 cup (240ml) dry quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups (500ml) vegetable stock
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (sauvignon blanc commonly used)
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup (57g) grated parmesan cheese + extra for serving
  • 1/2 cup (113g) thinly sliced basil + extra for serving

Instructions:

  1. First, saute the eggplant. Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Once hot, add eggplant and saute, stirring occasionally, until browned all over. Add garlic, along with a sprinkle of salt and pepper, and saute until garlic is fragrant, about 1 more minute. Scoop eggplant into a bowl and set aside.

  2. Meanwhile, cook the quinoa. Bring quinoa and vegetable stock to a boil in a small pot. Simmer until quinoa is tender and chewy, about 20 minutes. 

  3. In the same saute pan you used for the eggplant, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and saute until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the wine and chopped tomatoes, reserving a handful for garnish. Simmer until the wine is syrupy, about 3 minutes. Stir in cooked quinoa and eggplant.

  4. Remove from heat and stir in the parmesan cheese and basil. Serve immediately, with additional chopped tomatoes, parmesan, basil, and salt and pepper.

Eggplant Parmesan Quinoa RisottoThis was different from my normal favourite. I am not too sure if I liked it or not. Probably not if I am unsure, but I would still love to hear if you all liked it!

Oh and the wine I used was a South African one as my entire immediate family is in SA right now.

Albert Heijn Droog Wijn

I’ve been thinking about something totally unrelated to my meal. Why do women either gain or lose weight when heart broken or breaking up with their partners? I remember how both Arnold Schwarzenegger’s and Tiger Woods’ wives lost an incredible amount of weight upon going through the divorce. While when women break up with their partners they too either lose or gain weight. I know I am gaining now.

I am no longer stressing on what I’ve been trying to fix and not succeeding, but still I am gaining. My internal strength has lessened with the giving up of my one-sided relationship. And I am someone who has always been able to say no to chocolate, yet now all I crave is it. What is going on here!?

I need to get back on my healthy train! And fast! Any advice?

Anyway, happy eating!

L

Leave a Reply

