What’s Your Lazy Day Go-To Meal?

Recently I realized that my “lazy day” food tends to fall under the same thing, but it constantly has a twist! Sometimes it has beans in it, sometimes peas, sometimes fresh tomatoes, sometimes ground veggie crumbles, and sometimes just plain ole tomato sauce.

Can you guess what my lazy day food is?

Well it is pasta of course!

And today I added this amazing stuff I saw at my health food store.

Ground "Beef" from the Vegetarian Butchers

It is Ground “Beef” from the Vegetarian Butchers! How amazing is that!? And on that green circular sticker it says that this stuff won the award for the best tasting vegetarian beef in 2012, that is how good this stuff is!

Cooking my Ground "Beef"

I ended up cooking it all but only using a half of that slab of “ground beef”. It was rather fulfilling even with only a half of that used.

Bolognese Sauce on Multicolored Spaghetti

That was my complete meal. I never just warm up a jar of pasta sauce, I always make my own from scratch. If you are also interested in making your own sauce just look below to my recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped thinly
  • ½ cup (125g) ground “beef” 
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups (390g) chopped tomato in juice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon dried basil
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • a pinch of red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Microwave ground “beef” for  about a minute to allow frozen meat to thaw out. Break in half and place one half in fridge and the other on a frying pan with one tablespoon of olive oil. 

  2. Begin chopping onion and garlic and set aside. Keep eye on meat to keep from burning. Once cooked remove meat from pan and place on plate or in a bowl. 

  3. Add chopped onion and garlic to hot frying pan with second tablespoon of olive oil. Fry until fragrant then add meat back into pan. Cook for about two minutes. Then add tomatoes in juice to meat mixture. 

  4. Add spices to the sauce to add flavour. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer to combine flavours. If sauce becomes too dry add a couple tablespoons of water to mixture. 

  5. Serve immediately over any sort of pasta you’ve cooked and enjoy!

Ground "beef" pasta sauce

This was a fantastic meal and I cannot wait to make something else with this ground “beef” from the Vegetarian Butchers.

Where you’re from do they have meat like this? From a Vegetarische Slagerij? Or do you only get Vegetarian Meat Crumbles from your basic grocery store?

If you are ever in the Netherlands and you happen to be a vegetarian, I do suggest you take a visit to Den Haag and go to the Vegetarische Slager.  Although according to the website (which I just visited) they are located everywhere it would seem. SO you wouldn’t have to only visit The Hague, but you could go pretty much anywhere. Awesome!

Well you definitely should and enjoy it! I know I am!

While my lazy day go-to meal is pasta, I know others tend to go for take-out pizza, McDonald’s, soup, porridge, etc. So what is yours since you now know mine!

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

