Healthy and Light Dinner in the Summer Heat

I love the heat. I mean I was raised in it. You can’t live in Latin America and the Caribbean and not find joy while being in high temperatures and sunshine with the possibility to cool down in a pool in your backyard. But lately, the temperatures have been insanely high in the Netherlands and have caused me to want to almost peel my skin off like Robbie Williams in the music video Rock DJ. Although I am not the best dancer… with or without skin.

So for this evening’s meal I had to opt for something pleasant in the heat, while still being light on our stomachs. Mostly because the real meal for the evening will be popcorn as my sister, mom, and I will be headed to the movie theater to watch a comedy. The movie is The Other Woman. I showed mom the trailer before she moved to South Africa and she seemed to like the trailer, so we got lucky that it was playing when she returned to the Netherlands three months later!

Although to watch this movie I will be missing out on my team playing in the FIFA World Cup, but not to worry, I’ll know whether we win or lose by the reaction of everyone else wearing orange downtown. Actually, I am pretty sure the entire nation will be sporting our national color of orange.

 Grilled Chicken with Garlic Mashed Cauliflower and Asparagus

I made this lovely meal. I mostly loved my presentation on the new plates, but luckily it also tasted fantabulous!

The meal is fried chicken breast with garlic mashed cauliflower and asparagus.

I absolutely love cauliflower mash, it makes a great substitute  for potatoes, while giving you so much less guilt with the other additional flavours to make it fluffy. It is my version of perfection, true perfection!

Here is the recipe for the mash:

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head cauliflower
  • 2-3 Tablespoons light cream cheese
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable bouillon powder
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon fresh chives, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Trim cauliflower of leaves and wash. Chop cauliflower into chunks and place a pot on the stove top to boil. Once water boils, add cauliflower chunks to cook for 6 minutes or until cooked thoroughly.

  2. Once cooked, drain all liquid. Replace in pot and add cream cheese to cauliflower. Grab your immersion blender and blend until smooth. 

  3. Add garlic and Parmesan cheese as well as vegetable bouillon powder to mixture and continue to blend. Add black pepper and fresh chives and cover with a pot to allow to keep warm.

  4. When everything is ready sprinkle more chives and pepper on top and enjoy!

I fried my chicken while I boiled my cauliflower and then used the fat in the pan from the chicken to cook the asparagus.

Everything came out truly delicious! Except when I added my garlic to the mash I had a whole garlic and expected it to purée in the pot, or at least blend into a mush. That didn’t quite happen. Luckily I was the one to end up eating the full garlic clove rather than my mom.

I can tell you that it is a relief that I am not in a relationship or my partner would be afraid of me with my breath.

Garlic Mash with Fried Chicken and AsparagusI am in love with how the plate looks. I swear, giving this to my mom for tonight’s dinner made me feel very chef-like with the fabulous presentation.

So, about football? Are you watching the World Cup?

I know I am. I watched the first game of Brasil and Croatia last night and cheered Brasil constantly. Can you believe it was only team Brasil who made goals? Even against their own team?

Well tonight it is the Netherlands against Spain. I am kind of fearful of that turn out, but I am still supporting!

huphollandhupI’ve got my bright orange nail polish on and am sporting some orange earrings. I also bought an orange team Holland T-shirt at our local grocery store too! I am ready to join our country in supporting our national team!

Who are you cheering for?

 

 

Leave a Reply

