Red and Green Shell Pasta Delight

It feels like Christmas on my plate! Tonight’s meal consists of a lot of red and green, making my meal almost festive. Except it lacks a peppermint-like flavouring. Rightfully so though, because peppermint pasta does not sound all that appetizing!

Damn Delicious Pesto Dish
This is not my photo, it is from Damn Delicious

I’ve seen these photos on Pinterest for a very long time and have been keen on making the recipe that was attached, I just never got around to doing so. So finally, I did what I have been meaning to do.

This is definitely one of the easiest meals I’ve come around to making. With a minimal amount of ingredients and a two-step process, you are done in minutes! (Well almost, water does take some time to boil and then cook pasta), but for the rest it is pretty instantaneous!

Pesto Shell Pasta with Asparagus and Sun Dried Tomatoes

I got the recipe from here, but like always I’ve tweaked it a bit here and there.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cup (170g) small whole wheat shell pasta
  • ½ lb (200g) asparagus, trimmed
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3 teaspoons basil pesto
  • ¾ cup (180g) sun dried tomatoes, drained
  • 1/3 cup (40g) parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  1. In a large pot, place water to boil. Once boiling add a teaspoon of salt and cook pasta with lid uncovered for 8 minutes (or as package directions state)

  2. In a small frying pan, heat olive oil and cook asparagus. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook until slightly wilted, but still crisp. Set aside and let cool.

  3. Once pasta is al dente, drain well and replace in pot. Mix pesto, sun dried tomatoes, and parmesan cheese with pasta. Mix in asparagus and serve immediately.

  4. Sprinkle with additional parmesan cheese if desired. 

Pesto Pasta with Asparagus and Sun Dried Tomatoes

 

So this was a really easy meal. I made it just before the Uruguay – England football match, which by the way Uruguay won! Guess that is it for England. Sorry to all my English friends, but this World Cup your national team kind of sucked.

Not to worry, you can always cheer on our Dutch team! Or the lovely Argentines!

I feel ever so slightly mean for just dissing the English team, but it is true, they have been nixed since the final score for this game was 2:1 to Uruguay! I can say though, those last 2 minutes of overtime were tense!

I am not a football fan, but watching the Fifa World Cup is so insane. I had to actually stop typing just to watch the final minutes during overtime in case England got another goal making it a draw.

Even if you aren’t a football fan though, this would be an ideal meal for busy weeknights! It is so quick and easy, and not to mention tasty!

So if you plan on making this recipe, I truly hope you enjoy it!

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

