Spicy Garlic Shrimp Paella-Like Dish!

I have recently realized that I am addicted to shrimp. Maybe even all shellfish. But shrimp is what I can get my hands on more often than any other shellfish (since grocery stores only ever carry artificial crab for salads and sushi – yuck!) I am pretty sure that artificial anything isn’t all that good. Well except for artificial food coloring, I really don’t mind things unnaturally colored a bright red or something. Colors are awesome!

But now I am going off topic. So about food, shrimp to be precise.

Last night I made a sort of Paella-like dish which had shrimp. If you do not know what Paella is, it is a rice dish that uses a lot of saffron and paprika powder. It is most commonly known for being a seafood dish, but you can use sausage with it, make it purely vegetarian, or even a meat lover’s dish! I have only ever had it as a vegetarian dish and a seafood dish, but I am sure all ways are equally delicious.

Spicy Garlic Shrimp and Quinoa

For last night’s dish, instead of using rice though, I used quinoa! The original recipe can be found here, but my tweaked recipe will be seen below:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
  • 3 shallots, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 teaspoon paprika powder
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 4 teaspoons salted butter
  • 1 lb (500g) shrimp, deveined
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley

Instructions:

  1. Heat oil in a large nonstick pan over medium heat. Add the onion and 2 cloves garlic and sauté until softened and fragrant. Add uncooked quinoa, ½ paprika powder, and ¼ red pepper flakes and mix for about a minute. Add broth and bring to a boil, cover and cook for 15-20 minutes. When quinoa is cooked it should be fluffed with a fork for greater volume.

  2. While quinoa is cooking, in a smaller pan heat 1 teaspoon of butter, when melted add shrimp and sprinkle with remaining paprika powder and red pepper flakes. Add a pinch of salt and pepper to the mix. Cook until shrimp are no longer translucent, finally add minced clove of garlic to the pan to add extra flavour.

  3. Melt remaining butter in 2 minced cloves of garlic to make a sauce for drizzling.

  4. Serve the quinoa and shrimp together in one dish, sprinkling with parsley. When garlic butter is melted and cooled, drizzle over shrimp and quinoa and serve immediately!

  5. Enjoy!

Spicy Garlic Shrimp and Quinoa

This dish was absolutely delicious! Though it could have been a bit more garlicky. Yet when you look at the recipe it already is pretty garlicky!

I guess shrimp and garlic are my culinary vices!

Oh and last night the Netherlands played Australia and of course kicked Aussie butt! The score was 3-2. I was fully decked out in orange in support for our national team the Hollandse Leeuwen!

Hup Holland Hup!

Who were you supporting, the Dutch or the Australians?

Anyway, if you make this recipe I hope you enjoy it! I know I did!

Eet Smakelijk!

Leave a Reply

