Pasta with a little Red, Green, and White

For a mostly vegetarian eating vegetarian, I have not been eating a lot of vegetarian meals. What a contradiction! For the past couple of weeks my diet has consisted of a lot of shrimp and chicken. Guess that is why I consider myself a pesco pollo vegetarian. Alas, for today’s meal I went back to the basics. Went for something simple and completely delicious.

Shell Pasta with Sautéed Spinach and Feta

Now I know my plate does not look all that attractive, but the meal was just what I needed. A bit of spinach, a bit of tomatoes, and just the right amount of healthy salt found in the feta – delicious!

My all-time favourite cheese may just have to be feta. Well and Gouda.

I saw a photo online without a recipe, so I made the recipe on my own. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cup (170g) small whole wheat shell pasta
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cups (450g) spinach
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 shallot, chopped finely
  • ½ cup (75g) cherry tomatoes, halved
  • ½ cup (75g) feta, cubed
  • Salt  and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Heat a pot of water on the stove top and let water boil. Once boiling cook pasta as instructed on package.

  2. While pasta is cooking, heat tablespoon olive oil in frying pan. Add shallot and garlic to pan and begin to fry (about 1 minute) add spinach to pan and sauté until spinach is wilted and garlic is aromatic.

  3. Once pasta is cooked, drain well and return to pot, mix spinach with pasta. Add chopped tomatoes and cubed feta to pasta and stir.

  4. Immediately plate and sprinkle with pepper and additional salt (if desired)

  5. Enjoy!

Pretty easy! And I swear, the feta was the perfect touch. Yes you can substitute feta with Parmesan cheese, but the feta was pretty great!

Hope y’all try this recipe and enjoy it as much as I did. It is a great summer recipe!

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

