Friday Night Chicken Gyros

Ah Greek food, the most amazing thing to ever be made in this world.

I remember being in our all-time favourite restaurant in the Netherlands a few years ago and telling both my parents that I have decided that I need to marry a Greek man, an Indian, or a Trinidadian. They asked me why and I told them flat out that if I marry a man from Greece, India, or Trinidad I can become great friends with their mothers and learn the cuisine I love so much. But really all I truly need to marry is a man from Greece or Trinidad, because Trinidadians can be of Indian decent and may know both Indian and Trinidadian cuisine.

But since I have yet to find prince charming from either Greece or Trinidad & Tobago, I thought it would be best just to enjoy some Greek cuisine for a meal.

Easy Chicken Gyros

So how about them gyros?

I may never get over how Anglophones say “jieros”, because in the Netherlands it is spelled as giros and well in Dutch we have a heavy sounding (almost phlegm-filled) G sound that to my Anglophone ex-boyfriend, is pronounced like “hiros”.

Anyway, I got the recipe from here, but as always its been tweaked here and there.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (283g) breast of chicken
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 ½ teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup (225g) baby spinach
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • Pinch of fresh parsley
  • 3 gorditas (or pitas)

Tzatziki

  • ¼ cup (61g) Greek yoghurt
  • ½ teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon oregano
  • ¼ teaspoon parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Place chicken breast on chopping board and slice into thin chunks of meat. Then place sliced chicken in a bowl with olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, and herbs, as well as salt and pepper. Mix until well coated and set aside to marinate.

  2. Wash cutting board (or get a new one) and begin to mince garlic for tzatziki, then slice red onion for filling of pita.

  3. Heat a small frying pan on the stove top and add marinated chicken to pan. Cook for 5-7 minutes or until thoroughly cooked. While chicken is being cooked, grab a small bowl and mix yoghurt, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, herbs, and salt and pepper. Mix well and set aside.

  4. When chicken is cooked, take off heat and set up gyro to your liking (mine was set up by placing the spinach on the “gordita”, then adding the fresh parsley leaves, adding the thinly sliced red onions, a few strips of chicken, and then adding a dollop of tzatziki to the mix)

  5. Now enjoy!

Because this recipe is only enough for three gorditas, it is most likely enough to feed one hungry person or being served as an easy snack for three.

I was quite happy with three, though I may be a little sleepy now!

Spinach and Chicken filled Gyro

Now usually gyros are not made with spinach, but I thought why avoid healthy green leafy goods when they are as delicious as they are good for you? Yum!

On a side note though, I am sure those of you who have a keen eye for detail may have noticed in my initial photo there is a pot in the background.

You’re right, there is! I am growing herbs. Every evening around dusk I water my pots and the following day I see my babies have grown a little more. Fresh Herbs

In the white pot I’ve got basil growing, the light gray pot is filled with chives (and some other foreign plant), and in the dark gray pot I’ve got flat leaved parsley! I can honestly say that growing chives is the hardest as they need the most water or they begin to brown on the ends. It’s like they’ve got split ends, except they are crisp from the sunlight!

So that’s me with my partial green thumb! And my delicious Greek meal!

Hope y’all enjoy your meals just as I have!

One thought on “Friday Night Chicken Gyros”

Leave a Reply

