Lazy Mexican Sunday

The definition of lazy should be linked to my name. I can just imagine it. Flipping through one of the many dictionaries in our house and finding the word lazy which states this:

Lazy (n) – a person who is not very active such as Liselot.

Although the actual definition of lazy is an adjective, but hey! It could easily be a noun!

I have spent my day being lazy. Except I did make a delicious meal. If you like color like I do and you like a mixture of flavours in your mouth, this is truly for you.

Flautas de Pollo

How amazing does this look? I got the recipe from here, but as I used smaller wraps they didn’t quite take on the name of flautas or taquitos.

Ingredients:

  • 3 gorditas (small soft taco wraps)
  • 1 (238g) breast of chicken
  • ½ cup (74g) cheddar cheese, grated
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • ½ an avocado, sliced

Pico de Gallo

  • ½ cup (74g)  tomatoes, chopped
  • ½ cup (74g) cucumber, chopped
  • ¼ cup (37g) red onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ½ jalepeño, sliced and chopped
  • ¼ cup (37g) cilantro, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. In a small frying pan, cook chicken breast thoroughly. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes and salt and pepper to add extra flavour.

  2. Turn oven to 175ᵒC (350ᵒF) and place three gorditas into oven for 4-6 minutes, while gorditas are warming up begin grating your cheese.

  3. Once chicken is cooked allow to cool and then begin to shred. When gorditas are warmed up, remove from oven and add shredded chicken to them. Top with cheddar cheese and wrap up (insert toothpick to ensure wrap won’t undo) and place back in oven for three minutes or until cheese has melted.

  4. During this time you can chop your tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, and jalepeño and place them into a small bowl. Mince your garlic and chop your cilantro and add that to the bowl as well. Squirt with about 2 Tablespoons worth of lemon juice and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Mix well.

  5. As you remove your “flautas” from the oven, open up and place a teaspoon or so of Pico de Gallo on top. Slice your half of an avocado and add two “strips” on top of your Pico de Gallo and re-wrap and enjoy!

IMG_4003 Pico de GalloWhen I first took a bite of the Pico de Gallo, I was so mystified by its taste. It was like heaven in my mouth. The spice from the jalepeños with the citrus from the lemon juice, the sweetness of the tomatoes, with the eye-watering tartness from the red onion – it was perfect! I haven’t had anything this wonderful in a while!

I immediately made two flautas and gobbled them all up. I can say that I am full now. But full and content. I am actually happy after that meal.

I definitely advise all of you to also make this as it is spectacular!

Anyway,

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

