Pizza Without Pizza Sauce

“The meal is not over when I’m full, the meal is over when I hate myself.”

This is a quote that defines me right now. I am currently pregnant with a food baby. Kill me now.

But all self-hate aside, yesterday’s meal was spectacular! To my understanding, everyone loves pizza. I am definitely one of those that fall into the category of “everyone”. At the same time though, majority of people in this day of age love the thought of eating pizza, but prefer not to as it is unhealthy and fattening.

Well yesterday’s meal was anything but unhealthy and fattening!

 Hummus Pita Pizza

How delicious do these miniature pizza’s look? I got the idea from here, but instead of using pita bread (which is actually really difficult to find in the Netherlands), I used my new addiction – gorditas! They are really so much better than the basic non-existent pita bread found local grocery stores!

Ingredients:

  • 5 small pita breads (or gorditas)
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • Pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1 ½ teaspoons thyme
  • 1 ½ cups (340g) original hummus
  • 1 cup (149g) cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • ½ cup (74g) cucumber, sliced and quartered
  • ¼ cup (37g) black olives, sliced
  • 1 jalepeño, sliced
  • ¼ cup (37g) feta cheese, crumbled
  • 2 Tablespoons cilantro, roughly chopped

Instructions:

  1. Drizzle olive oil on hot frying pan and lightly fry pitas, flip frequently and sprinkle with thyme and salt for better flavour

  2. As you fry the pitas, chop vegetables and set aside.

  3. Once pitas are crisp, spread hummus over leaving a centimeter of “crust” visible.

  4. Add chopped vegetables over hummus, arrange so vegetables are spread out evenly.

  5. Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and finally with crumbled feta and enjoy!

Although the pita bread (or in my case, gorditas) are not that strong that the pizza stays a flat surface, it is easy enough to fold in half and enjoy!

Too bad it is summer time too as this could make a perfect after school snack for those of you who have kids! But if you do have children this could also be a great snack in the middle of the day between events such as swimming or riding bikes outside. Actually, do kids even do such activities anymore?

When I was a kid, summertime was filled with activities such as riding our bikes all around the desert-like terrain that made up the island of Aruba, swimming in our back yard pool, building tree houses and climbing trees, all sorts of physical activities! Although I am not a physically active person, we did a large amount of physical activity!

My childhood was filled with getting cuts and scrapes every other day. But what about now? Do children still get hurt through physical activity? Or are they more preoccupied with the digital world?

Regardless of what they do, this will be a great snack. Healthy and delicious!

I hope you all enjoy this as much as I did!

Eet smakelijk!

P.S. – here are some photos of my patriotism towards my nation and my second home! (Both the Netherlands and Argentina play against one another tonight… actually right now)

Argentine flag accent nail
Argentine flag accent nail
Dutch flag accent nail
Dutch flag accent nail

And here’s some Dutch humour:

The Kings wife is an Argentine,,,,
The Kings wife is an Argentine,,,,
Leave a Reply

