Spanish Influenced Quinoa Scramble

Meatless Monday came and went for this week and although I went with a shrimp meal, I didn’t get around to posting it online. Also, I actually wanted to make todays meal for the whole meatless theme, but when I finally got around to going to the grocery store (about 7:15pm) there wasn’t a single zucchini in sight!

Serves me right though as I only went to the grocery store at a quarter past seven in the evening.

I had planned to go at ten in the morning, and then at eleven, then later at two or three in the afternoon and finally I went at seven. I have this thing where I prefer to go to the grocery store when it is somewhat deserted. Does anyone else have that?

I mean I don’t have a fear of people – I love people! I talk to strangers all the time when I am downtown or at the grocery store, hell I’ve even gone on dates with people I’ve met while downtown! BUT I hate going to a very packed grocery store.

I finally got the zucchini I longed for yesterday, but today. And I made this:

 Spanish Quinoa Scramble

The PERFECT meal for a breakfast. But I had it more as a dinner. Good thing I’ll have enough leftovers!

I got the recipe from here, and for once there were no tweaks. Though I should have added garlic and red onion.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 zucchini, julienned
  • 1 red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • ½ cup (100g) cherry tomatos, quartered
  • ½ cup (85g) cooked quinoa
  • ½ cup (50g) cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced

Instructions:

  1. In a medium bowl mix together eggs, oregano, paprika, salt and pepper.

  2. Heat oil in a skillet and add zucchini and red pepper. Cook for 5 to 8 minutes, until the vegetables begin to soften. Add tomato and quinoa and cook for an additional 3 minutes. Pour egg or tofu mixture over the vegetables and cook, string constantly, until the eggs are cooked through. Top with cheese and allow to melt.

  3. Serve with avocado and enjoy!

Spanish Quinoa ScrambleI can definitely picture myself making this for my father once I move to South Africa. This would be a perfect protein-packed healthy breakfast, though for his taste it would need to be ever so slightly spiced. Maybe with Sambal or just a lot of red pepper flakes. 

Speaking of South Africa – only twenty days left until I header out! Exciting stuff!

Anyway, if you make this meal, I hope you enjoy it! Beware that it will probably be much better as a breakfast…

¡Buen provecho!

3 thoughts on “Spanish Influenced Quinoa Scramble”

Leave a Reply

