Taco Tuesday: Featuring Shrimp and Guacamole

It is official. I hate the heat. Actually no, I hate that the Dutch haven’t thought to install air conditioning units into just about every apartment or house. I hope that after this summer heat they will think that global warming is a real thing and that each coming summer will have highs of thirty. With that knowledge the Dutch will then put air conditionings into houses and apartments. Because Lord knows this heat is making me suffer.

Temperature

A woman is not supposed to perpetrate like I am. It is horrible.

Anyway I finally did what I needed to do: I made tacos for Taco Tuesday!

Shrimp Tacos with Guacamole

I got the recipe from here, though there are several ingredients I left out.

Instructions:

  • 2 gorditas (or small tortilla wraps)
  • 1 cup iceberg lettuce
  • ½ lb (200g) shrimp, deveined
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon dried thyme
  • ½ teaspoon paprika powder
  • ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Guacamole

  • 2 ½ avocados
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh cilantro, chopped
  • ½ yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon vinegar
  • Pinch of salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. In a small frying pan, heat olive oil and add shrimp to cook. Sprinkle with cumin, paprika powder, thyme, garlic, and salt and fry until cooked thoroughly.

  2. Cut avocados in half and remove the seed. Remove the meat from the skin of the avocado and place in a large bowl (or food processor depending on ripeness of avocado), add chopped garlic and onion and mash until avocado is mushy. Add cilantro, lemon juice, and vinegar and mix until flavour is as you prefer. Mix in salt and pepper and refrigerate until ready to use.

  3. Lay out gorditas and place iceberg lettuce on top, spread shrimp over lettuce, add a dollop of guacamole on top of the shrimp and sprinkle with leaves of cilantro.

  4. Finally enjoy!

I have never processed guacamole, but one of my avocados were a bit hard so I couldn’t smoothen it out with just a fork so the food processor worked best! And it worked out best!

Guacamole – like toasted tomato sandwiches, is something I am known for making well. Every time we have traditional tacos at home I have the task of making guacamole for the family. Both my sister and I can eat it straight out the bowl! Mmmhmmm!

Shrimp Tacos with Guacamole

 

You know, because it is so hot and my body cannot handle the heat too well without the air conditioning, I barely eat. Is that a thing for others as well? I was honestly full after only two tacos. The two that are photographed. That is insane! Especially since I usually can eat a horse! 

Anyway, I hope those of you who make my famous guacamole AND the tacos enjoy everything to the max!

¡Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

