My Rant Accompanied by a Risotto

I have come to realize that I take a lot of things seriously. For example, when ridiculed on the internet I can (and will) keep cool and collected and defend my position, then only to be made a mockery of due to the fact that the single person was “trolling” me. I’ve been told several times over that I am far too serious – but in a world where everyone is always out to get you (verbally that is), then isn’t it better to be serious than to automatically assume everyone is joking? Because then you will never know if someone is being serious or if someone is joking.

 Where are the Trolls?

Truth be told, I hate the internet. Yes I am a food blogger who utilizes the internet, BUT I do so begrudgedly. Although the internet makes for easier access to knowledge, it also makes for easier access to prey on people. Whether it is through abuse, sex, or even just purchasing online, it has made people easier at becoming targets. I do use the internet often – that’s where my television shows are! That is how I communicate with those abroad (family and travel-obsessed friends). That is how I find recipes I lust to make. But I too enjoy going through cookbooks, turning on the TV to watch something with the family, or just being able to be free and communicative in person.

I mean in person you do not need to work overtime to decide whether someone is being sarcastic, mean, or genuine. Well some of us do as Aspergers Syndrome is a real thing, but for the most part a detection in one’s voice can allow you to know the way in which something is being said. That is definitely not the case online – especially on chatrooms or Facebook. And it kind of vexes me.

Thank God those who have specifically bothered me will probably never read this making my current status a better one.

Anyway, my rant aside I made a perfect side dish for tonight! I should have had a vegetable as well, but I got lazy so rice and chicken it was! Clearly I lived in the Caribbean to have eaten only chicken and rice. It rel dred, hoss! (It’s really good in Trini speak)

The rice there is normal brown rice, but I did not use that!
The rice there is normal brown rice, but I did not use that!

I got the recipe from here, but I changed it into a risotto due to the lack of brown rice!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 large cloves garlic, crushed and chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • ½ cup (23g) basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 ½ cups (330g) Arborio rice
  • 3 cups (750ml) vegetable stock
  • ¾ teaspoon sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Heat a medium saucepan with olive oil and add the two cloves of garlic and onions and cook until the onions are translucent and soft, about 5 minutes.

  2. Mix in basil leaves, dried basil, and rice. Stir to be sure all of the grains of rice are coated with the other ingredients, and then sauté for about 2 minutes, stirring almost constantly.

  3. Add the stock and salt, and bring to a boil.

  4. Reduce the heat to the lowest setting, cover the pot, and cook until all of the liquid has been absorbed, about 15 minutes.

  5. Serve and enjoy!

It came out perfectly! I wasn’t too sure my rice of choice would work out the best, but it more than I expected!

Basil Risotto with Chicken

After my lovely meal I get to watch my favourite (and most heart-breaking) movie ever. Have you seen A Little Bit of Heaven? I’ve seen this movie about six times now and I cry every time! The first time I watched it we were dog sitting this GORGEOUS American Staffordshire Pitbull Terrier, Bandit, and I cried my heart out at the end and he came up to where my head was and spooned me till my tears stopped. Due to that dog, I will forever love pitbulls.

Anyway, you all need to both watch Little Bit of Heaven AND make this basil risotto!

You won’t regret it!

3 thoughts on “My Rant Accompanied by a Risotto”

  1. Half the time people that claim to be trolling just use it as an excuse when losing an argument. Keep up the good fight! 😉 And keep on making delicious food of course.

    1. You’re welcome! I try to avoid plagiarism and copyright issues! Your rice – although turned risotto, was delicious! Thank you for posting the recipe!

Leave a Reply

