On Friday’s We Bake

“On Wednesday’s we wear pink!” – Yeah? Well on Friday’s we bake.

And we all know that baking is greater than wearing pink. Who doesn’t love a bit of sweet-tooth lovin’? My housekeeper definitely doesn’t.

Usually I make her a cake of some sort but I thought to change it up a bit for yesterday. It was a cookie day yesterday. And you know, every time I think about baking cookies I think of the Cookie Dance. Not heard of it? You probably shouldn’t listen to it if you are one to get music stuck in your head often. I am one of those people.

Made with Love

Anyway, I made enough cookies for both Lizzie’s family AND our family. Plus mom gave some cookies to the pool guys after they cleaned our pool. Talk about a lot of cookies.

We also reheated a meal from the freezer for lunch.

A few weeks ago I made a fabulous meal of Chicken Tortilla Soup, though I made too much. Not surprising. We froze the remainder of it and pulled it from the freezer for lunch!

So today is a blog about baked goods and spicy Mexican soup! Not the best of combinations, but hey!

The cookies looked like this:

Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip

And I got the recipe from here, but I followed the recipe to a tee.

Ingredients:

CHOCOLATE COOKIE DOUGH

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • ½ cup (100g) granulated sugar
  • ½ cup (100g) light brown sugar (or dark brown)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (128g) all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup (100g) + 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons milk (almond, cow’s, soy, or half-and-half)
  • ½ cup (87g) dark chocolate chips (or semi-sweet or milk chocolate)

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE DOUGH

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • ½ cup (100g) light brown sugar (or dark brown)
  • ¼ cup (50g) granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ¾ cup (190g) creamy peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 and ¼ cups (160g) all-purpose flour (careful not to over measure)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (87g) dark chocolate chips (or semi-sweet or milk chocolate)

Instructions:

  1. *Make the chocolate dough:* Cream the butter and sugars together with a hand or stand mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides and bottom as needed. Beat in the egg and vanilla until combined, scraping down the sides as needed. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Slowly mix it into the wet ingredients. The dough will be very thick. With a spoon or rubber spatula, mix in the milk and then fold in the chocolate chips.

 

  1. *Make the peanut butter dough:* Cream the butter and sugars together with a hand or stand mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides and bottom as needed. Mix in the peanut butter, egg, and vanilla (in that order). Scrape down the sides as needed. Slowly mix in the baking soda, flour, and salt. Do not over mix. Fold in the chocolate chips.

 

  1. Chill both doughs for at least 1-2 hours. 2 hours is preferred.

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350ᵒF (175ᵒC). Line cookie sheet with silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Measure 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter cookie dough. Roll into a ball. Take 1 Tablespoon of chocolate cookie dough. Roll into a ball. Press the two balls together and roll them into 1 large ball. Repeat for each cookie. The chocolate cookie dough will get onto your hands, so wash/wipe them after you roll each cookie. It is important the chocolate cookie dough is chilled or else it will be even messier.

 

  1. Bake the cookies for 11-12 minutes, not exceeding 13 minutes. The cookies will look very soft, puffy, and almost undone. Allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet and they will continue to “bake” and set up. As the cookies cool, they will firm up. Cookies remain fresh (and soft) for up to 10 days in an airtight container.

 

My kitchen lacks certain tools to bake…. Well even cook, so I did not roll my cookies together. I tried to with an oiled long drink glass but that made a massive mess. Instead I decided just to press the cookies together then to press them into the lined cookie sheet. This still worked well. At least for me. If you actually own a rolling pin, I am sure that will work just as well as my fingers did for these cookies.

Pressed Cookies

I can tell you I ended up making like 7 batches of cookies on a tray. A lot of cookies. Although I did only fit like seven or eight per tray, so not THAT much. But still quite a lot as I do not

Okay so I cannot find the tortilla soup recipe that I used OR the one from a few years ago that ended up using my soup photo! I guess this means I will need to make the soup again sometime and share it with you immediately. Not a few weeks later. UGH.

Oh well. Sorry y’all!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the cookies as much as we did!

2 thoughts on “On Friday’s We Bake”

  1. I had the soup and it was SPECTACULAR! The cookies were already gone (I suspect Cindy and Liselot with hiding these on me?)

    Huub

Leave a Reply

