Green Food Made Right

Who loves healthy cuisine which is bright green in color?  I’m sure I can answer that one for you – me!

I am sure there is something wrong with me for liking bright (almost toxic) green foods. But they are just so pretty. To think Aqua is my favourite color with my love for bright green in food!

So for tonight’s meal we went for a simple healthy and bright green pasta sauce on spaghetti. Yum!

Keepin' It Green

I got the recipe from here and followed it to a Tee, but just had to share its amazingness.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe avocado, cubed
  • 1 cup (45g) fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 cup (225g) spinach, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 Tablespoons Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  1. In a small food processor combine avocado, basil, spinach, garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil and blend until smooth. Add salt and pepper if desired.

  2. Add green sauce to pasta (if you’ve made some) and combine Parmesan cheese to pasta and sauce mixture.

  3. Serve immediately and enjoy!

How easy is that!? And so delicious. And you know what is even better? Before you mix Parmesan cheese to the pasta the sauce almost tastes like guacamole! This I love very much.

Avocado Pasta Sauce

Because I LOVE guacamole. Actually scratch that, I love avocados. Period. I would LOVE to have an avocado tree.

Imagine just walking through the back yard when you’re craving for a full and fleshy avocado for a snack or even a salad and being able to! That does sound heavenly. Shame it takes several years to actually be able to grow avocados on a tree! UGH.

Oh and if you’re wondering, the spaghetti I used was this fantastic gluten free stuff we got from Woolworths.

Gluten Free SpaghettiWhy doesn’t NL have this much gluten free goodness in our grocery stores? Good thing I’m in South Africa now!

Anyway, I hope y’all enjoy this meal as much as my mom and I did!

Eet smakelijk!

P.S. If you ever have a water shortage it would be best to refrain from making pasta in a food processor or at all as most of the tools used to make pasta (and a sauce) need to be rinsed if not washed immediately. Tools such as the strainer, food processor, cheese grater, as well as pans and plates. But with a water shortage this cannot be done.

Big mistake on my part!

But do enjoy your meal!

Panorama of Walk Haven dog Heaven
Panorama of Walk Haven dog Heaven
Leave a Reply

