Peanut Buttery Goodness and some Funfetti Drama

A few weeks ago I made choco chocolate chip and peanut butter chocolate chip cookies for our housekeeper as a treat for the weekend. I’ve sort of made it a ritual to make something sweet for her as her one daughter who was the baker of her family passed away.

The Tuesday she came in, I asked her how the cookies were and she said they were wonderful. One of her daughters even asked for the recipe as her own daughters birthday was just around the corner and she wanted to make those cookies for her. I gave the recipe to Lizzie for her daughter but also had an idea up my sleeve to make a funfetti cake for Lizzie’s granddaughter for her birthday. What child wouldn’t want a funfetti cake to brighten up their day!?

Last week Tuesday I baked that cake for Lizzie’s granddaughters birthday which would be the following day. I will honestly say that I will not be making that cake again. It was far too brittle. But I iced it up and wrote “Happy Birthday” on the tin so that Lizzie can give it to the birthday girl the following day. It was pink and playful, perfect for any girl!

Pink and Girly Funfetti Cake

The following Tuesday Lizzie came in and she told me how her weekend went. She then told me that she added on the tin “Lizzie” so that it said “Happy Birthday Lizzie”. I was shocked. I asked her why she had done that when it was specifically for her granddaughter. She told me that she deserved it as she was the one working. Can you believe how selfish that is!? She also said that her daughter would have seen the tin saying “Happy Birthday” and immediately would have known it was for the birthday girl so Lizzie had to make it seem like it was for her.

Happy Birthday

I was so appalled. That’s a whole new level of greed if you ask me.

BUT I couldn’t stop my ritual because of her greediness, so today I made some peanut butter cookies. Simple and easy. I got the recipe from here.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup (65g) creamy peanut butter
  • 2 Tablespoons (28g) unsalted butter
  • ½ cup (100g) brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¾ cup (96g) all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar, for coating

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 175ᵒC (350ᵒF). Using an electric mixer, cream peanut butter and butter together in a mixing bowl until smooth. Add brown sugar and beat until combined. Add an egg and vanilla extract and combine until creamy.
  2. In a separate bowl whisk together flour and baking powder. Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until combined.
  3. Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper. On a small plate place 2 Tablespoons sugar on to coat cookies before placing on baking sheet. Roll a spoon full of cookie dough into balls and roll each ball between your hands. Roll balls in sugar to coat completely.
  4. Place cookie balls 2 inches apart on a prepared baking sheet. Bake until cookies begin to puff up slightly (about 12 minutes) when cookies begin to just brown around edges and crackle on top they are ready to be removed. Allow to cool on cookie sheet for ten minutes before transferring onto rack to cool completely.

Pre-BakingPost-BakingGrowing up there were two types of cookies mom would always make: 1) Peanut butter cookies 2) Oatmeal Raisin cookies.

To me, any cookie that has an indent of a fork and is a light brown color MUST be a peanut butter cookie! Because that is how mom would do them when my sister and I were young. These cookies I made today are very different in appearance to what we had growing up. The scent however is much the same.

This recipe is so very easy that I may have to make these cookies again for mom. She has a keen love for peanut butter anything. It is a shock she doesn’t stick a spoon into the peanut butter container like I do.

The container for Lizzie to take home today looks like this:

Peanut Butter Cookies to Go

Quite a small batch, this is why you didn’t get any, Mom! – she was pretty bummed she didn’t get any.

Anyway, I hope y’all enjoy the recipe as much as I hope Lizzie will!

One thought on “Peanut Buttery Goodness and some Funfetti Drama”

Leave a Reply

