Empanadas for Days!

Last week I spent my time in the Netherlands and as my Pilates classmates say “got soft”, they’re right. I didn’t eat all that healthy and didn’t feel guilty about it either. My week was spent gobbling stroopwafels! How awful right?! For those of you who do not know Dutch, a stroopwafel directly translates to a syrup waffle, this being two wafers filled with a syrup in between. When you are Dutch or have lived in the country for several years, you will know how heavenly these things are. Especially when you have been without them for three months or longer (as I have).

But because I have been in the Netherlands all of last week I didn’t have a kitchen to cook in so I mostly ate out or got salads from our local grocery store.

So I thought I’d write about a breakfast I had made for my Pilates class one Tuesday just two and a half weeks ago. I’ve been attending Pilates for about two and a half months now and love every minute of it. I’m getting fit while enjoying the company (all of which are women). I’ve also started to see a change in my body (before I went to NL that is), I could even get into a pair of shorts that were a struggle just this June! But the other week they fit perfectly on my problem area (my thighs). It felt great!

Anyway, I spoke to my class about the fact that I had made chicken empanadas the other day and they were really interested in them so I thought “why not make some vegetarian ones for these guys!” as half the class is a vegetarian.

So Tuesday I came to class with a tub of empanadas and little ketchup packets I had collected from some fast food joint!

Empanadas

I can honestly tell you that everyone loved them! My Pilates teacher even sat down with me and gobbled three or four! That’s how much they loved them! Good thing as I never had made these before! Would have been sad if my empanadas didn’t turn out to be a hit.

I got the recipe from here, though I didn’t follow this recipe for the pastry.

Ingredients:

For Pastry:

  • 2 ¼ cup (350g) plain flour
  • Pinch salt
  • Pinch baking powder
  • ¾ cup (145g) margarine, melted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ½ cup (100ml) lukewarm water

For Filling:

  • 1 teaspoon cayenne powder
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin
  • 1 cup (200g) sweet potato, cooked and mashed
  • 1 cup (172g) canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 5 Tablespoons green onions, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg white, lightly beaten

Instructions:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients for the pastry and mix well, slowly add margarine and mix until combined. Begin to mix in egg and combine until slightly wet. If pastry is not wet enough for your liking, pour little amounts of water at a time to moisten up and continue to knead dough. Wrap in clingfilm and place in refrigerator to set (for 30 minutes). Meanwhile place sweet potatoes in pot of water and turn heat to high to allow water to begin to boil. Watch pot to ensure water doesn’t boil over. 

  2. Once thirty minutes have been and gone, check potatoes to see if they are soft, if so drain water and mash in same pot that you made them in with a potato masher. 

  3. Combine sweet potato with cumin and cayenne powder until flavoursome. Then add black beans, green onions, cilantro, chili powder, and salt. Mix well. 

  4. Preheat oven to 200°C (400°F)

  5. Remove dough from fridge and take off clingfilm and roll out small balls of dough and then flatten them out with a rolling pin or use your hands (as I do). For each flattened roll of pastry, fill with a teaspoon and a half of filling. Fold closed and fold one edge over the other. Then crimp closed with a fork for a nice design. 

  6. Place on prepared cookie sheet (covered with wax paper) and continue making empanadas, rolling out, filling, folding, crimping, etc. 

  7. Once cookie sheet is filled with empanadas, lightly brush with egg wash and pop into oven to cook. 

  8. Bake at 200°C for 16 minutes or until lightly browned. 

  9. Remove and allow to cool and continue process until all filling and pastry is used. 

  10. Enjoy!

Empanadas for Class

It is a shame, I do not have a photo of what the inside of the empanada looked like, but it did taste quite good.

I’ve made empanadas a few times now and I can say that every time I make them I have much more pastry than I do filling, but this time around it all fit perfectly! I was very impressed.

Anyway, if you are a fan of latin cuisine but find yourself more along the lines of a vegetarian, then this may be the perfect recipe for you! It is delicious, full of vitamins and iron, and just overall good for you! Plus I think they make a fabulous breakfast for when you are on the go.

I hope you all enjoy the recipe and have a wonderful weekend!

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

