New Meal for a New Year

Happy hump day! Actually happy New Year too, because I learnt that one can say that all of January if one hadn’t said it yet to someone. Frankly I find that kind of weird, but I do remember people greeting me with a “happy new year” through much of January while I was still at school.

I feel really bad for being lazy and never writing on here. That’s a lie, I feel bad for being lazy in general. I feel like I haven’t cooked in ever! I planned on making a meal last week and instead I fell asleep in front of the laptop – who does that!?

I hope you all have been enjoying 2015 so far by doing amazing things, do any of you have New Year’s resolutions that need to be completed? I didn’t make any resolutions, I just hope to be more on point when it comes to studying. Today I did get some studying into my day! And as you may be able to tell, I cooked this evening!

Spaghetti with Sundried Tomatoes and Spinach

Today I made a Spaghetti with Sundried Tomatoes and Spinach. Although my mom isn’t too fond of sundried tomatoes, she went for seconds!

I got the recipe from here and pretty much followed it to a tee.

Ingredients:

  • 5oz (300g) whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 5 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 5 cups (565g) fresh spinach, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Cook spaghetti in a pot of boiling salted water until al dente for as long as directed on packaging. Add a tablespoon of oil into the water to keep spaghetti from sticking.

  2. Heat olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat and cook garlic until golden brown (approx. 3 minutes). Transfer garlic to paper towel to drain of oil.

  3. In a large skillet drain oil from smaller skillet and begin to fry chopped garlic. Add chopped sundried tomatoes and spinach and sauté with balsamic vinegar. Bring up heat to medium-high and cook until spinach is wilted.

  4. Toss spaghetti with sundried tomatoes and spinach mixture. Stir in ½ cup pasta water. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with feta cheese and most of toasted garlic chips.

  5. Plate up and top with ½ teaspoon of feta cheese, additional salt and pepper, and three or four garlic chips. Serve warm.

Spaghetti with Sundried Tomatoes and SpinachThis to me is such a nice meal for Spring and Summer. So perfect for us in the Southern Hemisphere as it is the peak of Summer in South Africa! We have had some pretty hot days!

I hope you all love this meal as much as my mother and I did! It really was lovely. Anything garlicky is great though. I love garlic.

Anyway I hope 2015 is great for you and your family and enjoy the year of the Sheep, especially if this year is your year in the Chinese Zodiac!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

