It is a Healthy Ice Cream Type of Day

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream!

I love ice cream. I miss ice cream treats or ice cream cakes from Dairy Queen! But you know, it is probably a good thing that we do not have a DQ in the Netherlands or South Africa or I would be fat. Super fat.

In the meantime though I can always make ice cream with my ice cream machine. Just days before my sister and her boyfriend arrived in South Africa for the holidays, I got a small ice cream machine. And pretty much everyone who knows me well knows that I will have an ice cream machine on my wedding registry for when I get married. That and a juicer. I’ll be able to slim down on a juicing diet and regain my fat from ice cream, well the ice cream that is milk-based.

My First Ice Cream Machine

Anyway a few weeks ago I made my first batch of ice cream. A yoghurt ice cream which is normally called frozen yoghurt. I never remember the term “frozen yoghurt” though, so I always end up just calling it yoghurt ice.

But I got the recipe from Justataste via Pinterest. Loved it! Although the recipe was slightly large for my minuscule machine so I did halve it. The recipe is of a healthy strawberry frozen yoghurt but I couldn’t find frozen strawberries so mine was made into a mixed berry frozen yoghurt. I also combined the recipe with a recipe in my instruction manual for my machine (you know, just in case the original recipe broke the machine – WHICH probably wouldn’t have happened). Below you can see the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups (338g) frozen berries, thawed
  • 2 Tablespoons agave nectar
  • 3 Tablespoons Greek yoghurt
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice

Instructions:

  1. In a sieve, mash berries and drain juices into a bowl to set aside. Blend whole berries into food processor with agave, Greek yoghurt, and lemon juice.

  2. Add berry juices to berry yoghurt mixture in food processor. And blend till smooth.

  3. Meanwhile prep ice cream machine and turn on.

  4. Pour berry mixture into ice cream machine and allow to freeze to for as long as machine is to be used (mine said a max of 40 minutes).

  5. Once berry mixture is at desired consistency, stop machine and enjoy! Keep in mind that homemade ice cream does not have the same consistency as store bought ice cream)

Although the original recipe I had followed said it was a 5 minute recipe, this forty minute one came out pretty well.

Fresh Frozen Yoghurt

I then placed the ice cream into a little container and popped it into the freezer so I could eat it much later. This did however change the ice cream to be much harder but with a little pop into the microwave all can be made good again!

I still have some leftover berry frozen yoghurt in the freezer even! Yay me.

Eating my Frozen Yoghurt

Not only do I want to share my ice cream with y’all, but I recently re-vamped a giant T-shirt for workout purposes. I don’t know if any of you know, but I do Pilates biweekly as well as Taiji, a martial arts type thing once a week. And yes, the proper name is Taiji which is derived from Taijiquan.

Anyway, I wanted a new workout shirt that was both inexpensive and cute and I pretty much got that. I bought an extra-large shirt from the men’s section of a store and brought scissors to it to make it into this awesome workout shirt!

I got the original idea from a WordPress blog entry by Dollars, Sense, and More and had to do the same thing! The original link for that entry is found here. Although I was initially somewhat confused by the instructions, I later grasped what was to be done and made this:

Back of ShirtFront of Shirt

I did tweak it ever so slightly. But unintentionally as I did cut a hole in the seam by the shoulders. Oops! I then cut three lines on the shoulder seam and pulled apart the seam. I pulled at the shoulder bits to lengthen the material and then tie them together. The shoulder now looks like so:

Shoulders of Shirt

I can say that my Pilates instructor loved my shirt. I too quite love it. But I learnt that the shirt isn’t practical for Pilates usage as we lay on our backs often. And although we lay in a neutral spine the wrapped racerback middle area does press into the soft spot of my back just below my shoulder blades. Not that comfortable. I’ll have to re-vamp a few other shirts till I find the right one for my Pilates. Who knows, maybe I’ll also make shirts for my good friend and Pilates instructor as she really did like the shirt.

Now if you guys want to workout and get back into the fashion world (at least like I did) but you crave for something sweet, this may be just the entry for you with a re-vamped shirt and ice cream and all!

Happy eating and working out!

Leave a Reply

