Rice Noodles with Shrimp Scampi

Food. Food is a deadly thing. It is amazingly delicious most of the time, but it is so grand that sometimes you end up stuffing your face. And you know what? I stuffed my face today. I really did. I have a food baby in my belly.

So today mom and I had it lazy. Initially we had planned to go down to the neighbourhood clubhouse for dinner (as every Wednesday they have a buffet dinner), but instead we made our own meals at home. And mom didn’t even make her own meal. She popped her “meal box” into the microwave though and ended up with sweet and sour chicken curry. I however made a real meal. Best of all it was my favourite protein ever!

Shrimp.

I love love love shrimp. I’m not too keen on removing the shell from king or queen shrimp, but normal shrimp that has already been deveined and such is perfect for me.

Rice Noodle Shrimp Dish

I got the recipe from The Recipe Club but if you would like to see the recipe directly, here is the link. The original recipe feeds four people while my recipe is perfect for two. Or even just one very hungry mouth (like mine was).

Ingredients:

  • Vegetable oil
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 brick rice noodles
  • 1 Tablespoon salted butter
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon (approx. 3 cloves) garlic, chopped
  • 2/3 cup (205g) frozen shrimp, thawed
  • 1 ½ Tablespoon parsley, chopped
  • Zest of ½ lemon
  • Juice of ½ a lemon
  • 3 slices of half a lemon
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • Pinch of salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Bring a pot of water to boil. Add salt and vegetable oil to water as you bring you water to boil.

  2. Meanwhile in a small skillet or frying pan combine butter and olive oil until bubbling. Add chopped garlic and cook until aromatic (be careful as garlic burns easily). Add shrimp and cook until pink (approx. 5 minutes), then remove from heat and add parsley, lemon zest, lemon juice, and lemon slices. Add last two ingredients and set aside.

  3. Water should be boiling now. Place your rice noodles into the pot and allow to cook. Noodles should be cooked in just 3 minutes.

  4. Drain noodles and return to pot. Combine shrimp mixture with noodles and toss till all is coated.

  5. Serve and enjoy!

Shrimp with Rice NoodlesOkay, so I didn’t quite combine my shrimp and noodles all that well because rice noodles are a difficult thing to deal with, BUT I tried. And it still came out pretty well! I may have placed a few too much lemon juice in it though. I also could have done more by adding more garlic as I am a garlic lover, though I was quite content with this. I mean an hour later and I am still very very full.

I really do have a food baby.

Anyway, you may have noticed I called the measurement for the rice noodles a brick. The reason I do that is because the noodles come in a rolled up chunk which is very brick-like. Think like your raw egg noodles that you get for ichiban instant noodles. The noodles are shaped in a brick. Well rice noodles are much the same.

This was a delicious and I am glad to have enjoyed a lovely shrimp dish. Shrimp is definitely my favourite shellfish from the shellfish family. It is just a shame my mom doesn’t like them. That is one good thing to look forward to when living alone again. More delicious shrimp dishes!

Oh well! I hope you all enjoyed this recipe and have a wonderful rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

