I’ve Returned to the Kitchen with some Chicken

Travel: gotta love it, you get to see old friends and family, make new friends in the process, and best of all you get to be lazy and eat out trying new foods and restaurants!

I love traveling, I love trying new things, though I also love being home and cooking my own meals.

So mom and I just returned from the Netherlands last night around ten o’clock. Our trip to the Netherlands was great. I got to see my family, old school mates, and try new restaurants. I’ll be rating those restaurants on TripAdvisor as well. I should really make a living from rating meals and restaurants…

Anyway, I missed home cooked meals. So I’ve got all sorts of wonderful things planned for the next few days. This evenings meal consists of a Lemon Butter Chicken dish. This butter chicken is not a curry. Just a wonderful meal with a lot of butter and lemon juice.

I usually do not cook with a lot of butter (mostly because my father does not like it) but also because I have horrible images of a very well-known Dutch chef sliding a bunch of butter into whatever meal we were making and then sucking his butter coated finger. He is a great man and chef, has a very lovely and known restaurant in the Netherlands, but when I worked with him I experienced his love of butter. And now I am stuck with such a memory of him enjoying raw butter on his index finger.

Anyway, I got the recipe from DamnDelicious, an amazing website with all sorts. I also follow the writer, Chungah on Instagram. She has the two cutest Corgi’s ever! The direct link for the recipe can be found here though.

I almost followed the recipe to a complete T, just that I minimized the amount of chicken and used the breast of a chicken rather than the thigh. Also, I didn’t minimize the amount of liquid for the gravy. I kept the original recipe for the liquid. I love sauce and gravy that I am almost sad when there is barely any for the meal.

Lemon Butter Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 breasts of chicken
  • 1 Tablespoon paprika powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 Tablespoons (42g) unsalted butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup (235ml) chicken broth
  • ½ cup (120g) heavy cream
  • ¼ cup (25g) parmesan, grated
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 2 cups (450g) fresh spinach, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400ᵒF (204ᵒC)

  2. Season your chicken with paprika powder and salt and pepper.

  3. In a large oven safe pan at a medium heat, melt two tablespoons of butter then place chicken in pan. Sear sides till golden brown (approx. 2-3 minutes) and set aside.

  4. Melt remaining butter in pan and add garlic and sauté until fragrant, then add chicken broth, heavy cream, parmesan, lemon juice, and thyme to pan.

  5. Bring to a boil but reduce the heat allowing butter mixture to simmer. Add chopped spinach to mixture and mix until wilted and sauce has thickened slightly.

  6. Replace chicken to pan and pop pan into oven to roast chicken until completely cooked through. Cook for about 30 minutes.

  7. Once ready serve over rice with sauce drizzled over chicken and rice.

  8. Enjoy!

Lemon Butter Chicken on a bed of RiceIf you like a creamy garlic/lemon flavoured dish, you should certainly like this! Especially if you can handle butter!

My mom wasn’t the biggest of fans of this dish, but I didn’t mind it!

I’m sure it was healthier than some of the meals I had while in Holland! I didn’t eat THAT unhealthily, but I sorta did. I mean our last lunch meal was from a snack bar! My mom had the typical Dutch kroket while I went for kipcorn! Kipcorn being a chicken stick.

Broodje Kipcorn met fritjesAnyway I hope you will all enjoy this dish!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

